Lucas announces local recipients of $7,500 teaching scholarship

Posted by: Randy Spieth  | Monday, April 27, 2020

STATEHOUSE (April 27, 2020) — Area students pursuing a career in education recently received the Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship, according to State Rep. Jim Lucas (R-Seymour).

The statewide program awards scholarships to top-performing students who commit to teaching in Indiana for at least five years. Recipients receive $7,500 per year for up to four years to obtain a teaching license. The program began in 2017 thanks to legislation Lucas supported.

“It is important to keep hard-working Hoosier students who aspire to teach here in Indiana classrooms," Lucas said. "This scholarship program financially helps these Jackson County students achieve their dream of teaching and serving our children and schools."

More than 350 students applied and several scholarships were recently awarded to local students who live in Seymour:

  • Owen Ballard, Columbus East High School, Indiana University Bloomington;
  • Kennedy Cockerham, Seymour High School, Taylor University; and
  • Erin Otte, Seymour High School, University of Southern Indiana.

The Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship is available to 200 high-achieving high school and college students each year who either graduate in the top 20% of their high school class or earn a score in the top-20th percentile on the SAT or ACT.

Lucas said recipients must earn a 3.0 cumulative GPA and complete at least 30 credit hours per year in order to continue receiving the four-year renewable scholarship totaling $30,000.

“Congratulations to all 200 students, who are on their way to becoming impactful, future Hoosier teachers,” said Indiana Commissioner for Higher Education Teresa Lubbers. “We know these students have the passion and determination to make a difference in classrooms across the state.”

The 2020-2021 application will be available in the fall. Visit for more information.


State Rep. Jim Lucas (R-Seymour) represents House District 69, which includes
portions of Bartholomew, Jackson, Jennings and Jefferson counties.
here to download a high-resolution photo