Local students receive future educator scholarships

Posted by: Jake Thompson  | Wednesday, May 22, 2019

STATEHOUSE (May 22, 2019) – Many aspiring teachers from Kosciusko and Wabash counties were recently selected to receive the Next Generation Hoosier Educator Scholarship, according to State Rep. David Wolkins (R-Warsaw).

Wolkins supported legislation in 2016 creating the scholarship program. He said top-performing students who commit to teaching in Indiana for five consecutive years are eligible to receive $7,500 per year for up to four years to obtain a teaching license.

“With this scholarship, these future educators can begin their careers with less debt,” Wolkins said. “I was supportive of this program from the start, and can’t wait to see how many Hoosiers continue to benefit from it.”

According to Wolkins, the Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship is available to 200 high-achieving high school and college students each year who either graduate in the top 20 percent of their high school class, or earn a score in the top-20th percentile on the SAT or ACT.

“I’m enthusiastic about the number of local scholarship winners,” Wolkins said. “I hope others who are interested in pursuing a teaching career will apply in the future.”

Nearly 400 students applied this year, and 200 scholarships were awarded to students across the state, including these recipients from the area:

  • Ariel Dale, Northfield Jr./Sr. High School, Taylor University;
  • Kelsey Eichenauer, Manchester Jr./Sr. High School, Valparaiso University;
  • Olivia James, Warsaw Community High School, Purdue University;
  • Makenna Norman, Southwood Jr./Sr. High School, Indiana University-Kokomo;
  • Madelyn Paris, Lakeland Christian Academy, Grace College; and
  • Keagan Rice, Warsaw Community High School, Indiana Wesleyan University.

“We are encouraged to see so many driven and prepared students applying for the Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship,” said Indiana Commissioner for Higher Education Teresa Lubbers. “We look forward to the positive impact they will have in classrooms and school communities across Indiana.”

The 2020-2021 application will be available beginning in the fall. Visit www.LearnMoreIndiana.org/nextteacher for more information.


Rep. David Wolkins (R-Warsaw) represents House District 18,

which includes Wabash and portions of Kosciusko, Miami and Grant counties.

For a high-resolution photo of Rep. Wolkins, click here.