Local legislators: Daviess County receives $250K for local businesses

Posted by: Wade Coggeshall  | Monday, September 21, 2020

STATEHOUSE (Sept. 21, 2020)  Daviess County recently received a $250,000 grant from the Indiana Office of Community and Rural Affairs to help small businesses, according to local lawmakers.

State Rep. Bruce Borders (R-Jasonville) said Daviess County can provide grants up to $10,000 for 25 to 30 small businesses that have been impacted by the pandemic. Priority will be given to businesses owned by veterans, minorities and women.

"We need our locally owned businesses to stay open or reopen if the economy is going to rebound quickly," Borders said. "The more help they can get, the stronger we'll emerge from this public health emergency."

According to State Rep. Jeff Ellington (R-Bloomington), 42 rural communities were recipients of the second round of funding, which was distributed through OCRA's COVID-19 Response Program.

"Entrepreneurs are the bedrock of communities across the state," Ellington said. "We need them now more than ever in order to ensure Hoosiers have quality jobs, goods and services, and our towns continue to thrive and succeed."

State Rep. Shane Lindauer (R-Jasper) said more than $20 million to date has been awarded to counties, cities and towns to help cover payroll and operational costs for local businesses impacted by COVID-19.

"Employers are doing a tremendous job adapting their business models to keep meeting the needs of our communities, but some are still struggling to cover day-to-day expenses," Lindauer said. "These grants provide much-needed assistance to Hoosiers so businesses can reopen and remain open."

Funding for Indiana's COVID-19 Response Program comes from the federal CARES Act passed at the outset of the pandemic.

More information on the COVID-19 Response Program is available at in.gov/ocra.


State Rep. Bruce Borders (R-Jasonville) represents House District 45, which includes
all of Sullivan County and portions of Vigo, Greene, Knox and Daviess counties.
here to download a high-resolution photo.

State Rep. Jeff Ellington (R-Bloomington) represents House District 62, which includes
portions of Greene, Monroe, Martin and Daviess counties.
Click here to download a high-resolution photo.

State Rep. Shane Lindauer (R- Jasper) represents House District 63,
which includes portions of Daviess, Dubois, Pike and Martin counties.
Click here to download a high-resolution photo.