Local lawmakers: State awards $407K to help drive Monroe County road projects

Posted by: Wade Coggeshall  | Monday, May 3, 2021

STATEHOUSE (May 3, 2021) – Indiana recently awarded $407,000 in state matching grants to Monroe County for road and bridge improvements, according to local legislators.

Through the Community Crossings Matching Grant program, 218 Hoosier cities, towns and counties received a combined total of over $100 million. This program was established in 2016 and expanded a year later in 2017 through laws supported by State Reps. Jeff Ellington (R-Bloomington), Peggy Mayfield (R-Martinsville) and Bob Heaton (R-Terre Haute). The Indiana Department of Transportation oversees and distributes these grants twice each year.

"Motorists depend on well-maintained roads and bridges to get where they need to go," Ellington said. "Without these state grants, local projects would be more difficult to start and finish."

Mayfield said communities can use these funds for road and bridge preservation, road reconstruction, intersection improvements, guardrail replacements and signage. Smaller municipalities must provide a 25 percent match in local funds, while large communities must provide a 50 percent match.

"We continue to invest in making Indiana a great place to live and visit," said Mayfield, a member of the House Ways and Means Committee. "Prioritizing our roads and bridges keeps us on the right path and helps attract new residents and job creators."

Heaton, who is also a member of the House Ways and Means Committee, said more than $931 million in total has been awarded throughout the state since 2016. State law requires that 50 percent of the available matching funds be awarded annually to communities within counties with a population of 50,000 or fewer. 

"This partnership between state and local governments benefits everyone who travels on our roads," Heaton said. "Hoosiers can see the difference when they commute for work and visit other parts of Indiana."

More information about the program and recipients can be found online at in.gov/indot/communitycrossings. The next call for projects through Community Crossings will open in July 2021. 


State Rep. Jeff Ellington (R-Bloomington) represents House District 62, which includes
portions of Greene, Monroe, Martin and Daviess counties.
Click here to download a high-resolution photo.

State Rep. Peggy Mayfield (R-Martinsville) represents House District 60,
which includes portions of Morgan and Monroe counties.
Click here for a high-resolution photo.

State Rep. Bob Heaton (R-Terre Haute) represents House District 46,
which includes portions of Clay, Monroe, Owen and Vigo counties.
Click here to download a high-resolution photo.