Local lawmakers announce COVID-19 response funding for Morgan County

Posted by: Wade Coggeshall and Samantha Holifield  | Thursday, May 7, 2020

STATEHOUSE (May 7, 2020) – Morgan County recently received $250,000 in coronavirus relief to support rural businesses, according to local legislators.

"Family-owned businesses are the pillars of communities across Indiana," said State Rep. Peggy Mayfield (R-Martinsville). "If many of these shops cease operations, it may threaten the commercial diversity and entrepreneurial spirit in Morgan County. This grant can be a helping hand until they are able to operate at full capacity."

According to State Rep. Beau Baird (R-Greencastle), Morgan County will use the money to establish a program providing funding for the daily operations of small businesses.

"Our rural communities are facing unprecedented challenges due to this public health crisis," Baird said. "Financial relief like this provides critical support so small businesses can retain employees during this difficult time."

State Rep. John Young (R-Franklin) said in March, Gov. Eric Holcomb issued Executive Order 20-05, which allowed the Indiana Office of Community and Rural Affairs to redirect Community Development Block Grant funds to assist with COVID-19 needs. As a result, the COVID-19 Response Program was created to address the immediate impacts of the public health emergency on Indiana’s rural communities.

"Local restaurants, shops and companies continue to be a staple of our community," Young said. "This grant will help protect jobs and ensure longstanding businesses remain a part of Morgan County for years to come."

Visit in.gov/ocra for more information.


State Rep. Beau Baird (R-Greencastle) represents House District 44, which includes
all of Putnam County and portions of Clay, Morgan, Owen and Parke counties.
Click here to download a high-resolution photo.

State Rep. Peggy Mayfield (R-Martinsville) represents House District 60,
which includes portions of Morgan and Monroe counties.
She is the assistant majority floor leader and serves on the
House Ways and Means, Public Policy and Insurance committees.
Click here for a high-resolution photo.

State Rep. John Young (R-Franklin) represents House District 47,
which includes portions of Johnson and Morgan counties.
Click here to download a high-resolution photo.