Legislators: Parke County receives $250,000 for local businesses

Posted by: Wade Coggeshall  | Friday, September 11, 2020

STATEHOUSE (Sept. 11, 2020) – State Reps. Alan Morrison (R-Brazil) and Beau Baird (R-Greencastle) said Parke County recently received a $250,000 grant from the Indiana Office of Community and Rural Affairs to help small businesses.

Parke County can use the grant to provide loans for business owners or employers who have concentrations of low- to moderate-income families and individuals.

"The financial impact of this pandemic has been especially hard on rural communities," Morrison said. "Our neighbors need help rising above these hardships, and targeted funding like this can keep more Hoosiers employed as we get our economy back on track."

According to Baird, 42 rural communities were recipients of the second round of funding, which was distributed through OCRA's COVID-19 Response Program. He said more than $20 million to date has been awarded to counties, cities and towns to help cover payroll and operational costs for local businesses impacted by COVID-19.

"Keeping both our homegrown companies in business and their workers employed are essential until this virus can be fully contained," Baird said. "Hoosiers are getting back to work, but revenues may be lower than before. That's why these funds are important. Indiana's economy and the spirit of our communities depend on locally owned businesses maintaining through this difficult time."

Funding for Indiana's COVID-19 Response Program comes from the federal CARES Act passed at the outset of the pandemic.

More information on the COVID-19 Response Program is available at in.gov/ocra.


State Rep. Alan Morrison (R-Brazil) represents House District 42,
which includes all of Vermillion County and portions of Clay,
Fountain, Parke, Vigo and Warren counties.
Click here to download a high-resolution photo.

State Rep. Beau Baird (R-Greencastle) represents House District 44, which includes
all of Putnam County and portions of Clay, Morgan, Owen and Parke counties.
Click here to download a high-resolution photo.