Lawrence County legislators announce help available to farmers who suffered losses due to pandemic

Posted by: Wade Coggeshall and Randy Spieth  | Friday, June 12, 2020

STATEHOUSE (June 12, 2020) — Local farmers and agricultural producers directly impacted by the COVID-19 pandemic can apply for financial assistance through the U.S. Department of Agriculture's Coronavirus Food Assistance Program, according to State Reps. Chris May (R-Bedford) and Steve Davisson (R-Salem).

May said the initiative is providing $16 billion in direct relief payments for those in the agriculture industry experiencing income losses as a result of decreased demand for their products.

"Agriculture is one of Indiana's largest industries, so when it suffers the effects are widespread," May said. "During these uncertain times, access to food is critical and dependent on Indiana's farmers. This assistance will ensure farmers have additional resources to help get them through."

To be eligible for assistance, producers of agricultural commodities must have experienced at least a 5% price decline or had losses due to market supply chain disruptions due to COVID-19 and face additional significant market costs. Davisson said eligible products include specialty and non-specialty crops, wool, livestock and dairy.

"The demand for certain products has dipped due to the pandemic and many of our farmers have taken a hit," Davisson said. "It's important this direct relief is provided to our hardworking neighbors so they can continue feeding the nation."

Applications for the Coronavirus Food Assistance Program are open through Aug. 28 and available through the Farm Service Agency at local USDA Service Centers. For more information including eligibility requirements and finding local service centers, visit

Additionally, the USDA is supporting agricultural producers by purchasing $3 billion in fresh produce, dairy and meat to be distributed to food banks, community and faith-based organizations, and other nonprofits who serve those in need.


State Rep. Chris May (R-Bedford) represents House District 65, which includes all of
Brown County, most of Lawrence County and parts of Monroe, Jackson and Johnson counties.
Click here to download a high-resolution photo.

State Rep. Steve Davisson (R-Salem) represents House District 73, which includes
Washington County, and portions of Jackson, Lawrence, Orange, Clark and Harrison counties.

here to download a high-resolution photo.