Lawrence County lawmakers announce local students receive $7,500 teaching scholarships

Posted by: Wade Coggeshall and Randy Spieth  | Monday, April 27, 2020

STATEHOUSE (April 27, 2020) — Area students pursuing a career in education recently received the Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship, according to State Reps. Steve Davisson (R-Salem) and Chris May (R-Bedford).

The statewide program awards scholarships to top-performing students who commit to teaching in Indiana for at least five years. Recipients receive $7,500 per year for up to four years of college to obtain a teaching license. The program began in 2017 thanks to legislation Davisson supported.

"Teachers are important leaders in our schools and communities," Davisson said. "They have an influential role in shaping and preparing students, and this scholarship encourages the best future educators to teach in Indiana classrooms."

According to May, the Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship is available to 200 high-achieving high school and college students each year who either graduate in the top 20% of their high school class or earn a score in the top-20th percentile on the SAT or ACT. More than 350 students applied. Scholarships were recently awarded to Gracyn Alvey from Bedford and a student at Bedford-North Lawrence High School, and Luke LaFevor, from Mitchell and a student at Mitchell High School. Both will attend Indiana State University.

"This scholarship has helped so many students who aspire to support young Hoosiers," May said. "It's reassuring to know our classrooms are led by such capable educators, with more future teachers able to receive a scholarship for years to come."

Recipients must earn a 3.0 cumulative GPA and complete at least 30 credit hours per year in order to continue receiving the four-year renewable scholarship totaling $30,000.

“Congratulations to all 200 students, who are on their way to becoming impactful, future Hoosier teachers,” said Indiana Commissioner for Higher Education Teresa Lubbers. “We know these students have the passion and determination to make a difference in classrooms across the state.”

The 2020-2021 application will be available in the fall. Visit for more information. 


State Rep. Steve Davisson (R-Salem) represents House District 73, which includes
Washington County, and portions of Orange, Lawrence, Jackson, Clark and Harrison counties.
Click here to download a high-resolution photo.

State Rep. Chris May (R-Bedford) represents House District 65, which includes all of
Brown County, most of Lawrence County and parts of Monroe, Jackson and Johnson counties.
here to download a high-resolution photo.