Lawrence County lawmakers announce local road funding for Bedford, Oolitic

Posted by: Wade Coggeshall  | Thursday, April 9, 2020

STATEHOUSE (April 9, 2020) – Bedford and Oolitic received over $274,000 in state matching grants to bolster road and bridge improvements, according to State Reps. Chris May (R-Bedford) and Steve Davisson (R-Salem).

Over 200 Indiana cities, towns and counties received a combined total of $126.5 million through the Community Crossings Matching Grant program. The grants are made available through the Indiana Department of Transportation as a result of a law May supported in 2017.

“Our roads and bridges are essential assets that are critical for Hoosiers and businesses alike,” May said. "Indiana has made transportation infrastructure a priority, and the number of grants and amount of funding awarded locally through this program reflects that commitment."

As part of the program, Bedford received $218, 476, with Oolitic awarded $55,559.

Davisson said grant funding can be used toward road and bridge preservation, road reconstruction, intersection improvements, guardrail replacements and signage. Smaller municipalities must provide a match of 25% in local funds, while large communities must provide a 50% match.

"Community Crossings has already helped many of our local highway and street departments make improvements," Davisson said. "This round of funding will leave an impact on these communities and I encourage more towns, cities and counties to apply for the next round of funding this summer."

In total, more than $738 million has been distributed for local road projects through the Community Crossings program. State law requires annually that 50 percent of the available matching funds be awarded to communities within counties with a population of 50,000 or fewer. 

An estimated $100 million will be available for communities opting to apply for these grants during the July 2020 call for projects. More information about the program and recipients can be found at


State Rep. Chris May (R-Bedford) represents House District 65, which includes all of
Brown County, most of Lawrence County and parts of Monroe, Jackson and Johnson counties.
Click here to download a high-resolution photo.

State Rep. Steve Davisson (R-Salem) represents House District 73, which includes
Washington County, and portions of Jackson, Lawrence, Orange, Clark and Harrison counties.
here to download a high-resolution photo.