Lawrence County lawmakers announce Indiana voters can now request absentee ballots online

Posted by: Wade Coggeshall and Randy Spieth  | Friday, May 8, 2020

STATEHOUSE (May 8, 2020) — Indiana's registered voters can now submit an online application to receive their mail-in absentee ballot, according to State Reps. Chris May (R-Bedford) and Steve Davisson (R-Salem).

Due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, the state's primary election is postponed to June 2. Registered voters do not need a reason to vote absentee in the upcoming election, and can request a ballot online or by fax, mail or email.  

"It's important we adhere to the public health guidelines already in place to continue abating this public health emergency," May said. "The state is working to make voting in our primary election as safe and secure as possible."

To request a mail-in ballot online, visit and click on the "apply online" button under "Vote by Mail or Traveling Board." Davisson said election ballot applications can be requested through May 21, and mail-in ballots must be received by noon on June 2.

"It takes only five minutes to request a ballot online," Davisson said. "While it is a quick task, please remember voters need to make this request soon. Otherwise their local election office will not have time to get them the ballot before the primary."

For voters who have already received a mail-in ballot dated May 5, 2020, it will be considered valid. Voters can still choose to cast their ballot in person, either during early voting May 26 through June 1, or from 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. on June 2.

To check your registration status, find early vote locations and hours, or to see who's on your ballot, visit


State Rep. Steve Davisson (R-Salem) represents House District 73, which includes
Washington County, and portions of Orange, Lawrence, Jackson, Clark and Harrison counties.
Click here to download a high-resolution photo.

State Rep. Chris May (R-Bedford) represents House District 65, which includes all of
Brown County, most of Lawrence County and parts of Monroe, Jackson and Johnson counties.
here to download a high-resolution photo.