Lawrence County lawmakers announce area communities receive COVID-19 response funding

Posted by: Wade Coggeshall and Randy Spieth  | Monday, May 4, 2020

STATEHOUSE (May 4, 2020) – Lawrence County and Mitchell recently received a combined $500,000 in coronavirus relief to support rural Hoosiers, according to State Reps. Chris May (R-Bedford) and Steve Davisson (R-Salem).

"Many establishments have had to limit operations or close their doors altogether to slow the spread of this virus," May said. "Their efforts to keep residents safe are appreciated, and funding like this could help get them through this crisis."

Lawrence County was awarded $250,000 to provide working capital to businesses, assisting with operational costs and developing remote work capabilities. Mitchell received $250,000 to provide businesses with 25 or fewer employees funding for rental or mortgage payments, supplies to restart business and salary dollars.

According to Davisson, 62 communities received funding through the COVID-19 Response Program.

"Rural Indiana heavily relies on small businesses to fuel our economy," Davisson said. "With so many workers and businesses feeling the hardship of this public health crisis, these funds can help keep these businesses open and continue providing to their communities and employees."

In March, Gov. Eric Holcomb issued Executive Order 20-05, which allowed the Indiana Office of Community and Rural Affairs to redirect Community Development Block Grant funds to assist with COVID-19 needs. As a result, the COVID-19 Response Program was created to address the immediate impacts of the public health emergency on Indiana’s rural communities.

Visit for more information.


State Rep. Steve Davisson (R-Salem) represents House District 73, which includes
Washington County, and portions of Jackson, Lawrence, Orange, Clark and Harrison counties.

Click here to download a high-resolution photo.

State Rep. Chris May (R-Bedford) represents House District 65, which includes all of
Brown County, most of Lawrence County and parts of Monroe, Jackson and Johnson counties.
here to download a high-resolution photo.