Lauer, Eberhart: Bartholomew County, local communities eligible for pandemic relief funds

Posted by: Lydia Kirschner  | Thursday, May 28, 2020 11:24 am

STATEHOUSE (May 28, 2020) – Bartholomew County and local communities are eligible for more than $4.3 million to cover COVID-19-related expenses through the federal stimulus package, according to State Reps. Ryan Lauer (R-Columbus) and Sean Eberhart (R-Shelbyville).

Indiana allocated $300 million in federal funding from the Coronavirus Aid, Relief and Economics Security Act to counties and communities for reimbursement of expenditures related to the pandemic. Lauer said the funding, allocated based on population, cannot be used to replace lost tax revenue.

"This public health emergency has affected so many aspects of our daily lives," Lauer said. "For local towns and cities, it came with a financial burden to keep Hoosiers safe through medical supplies and testing centers. The relief funds are for these communities, helping offset their unexpected COVID-19 related costs."

Bartholomew County is eligible for $2,684,820 in reimbursement funding. In addition, these local communities are eligible to receive the following amounts:

  • Clifford $7,883;
  • Columbus $1,542,474;
  • Elizabethtown $17,097;
  • Hartsville $12,880;
  • Hope $71,311; and
  • Jonesville $6,229.

Eberhart said local townships seeking reimbursement for eligible COVID-19 expenses should coordinate with their county government.

"As the COVID-19 outbreak quickly spread, many communities took swift action to support local residents," Eberhart said. "For many areas, these efforts came with unexpected costs. This funding could reimburse some of these expenses and help locals get through this challenging time."

The Indiana Finance Authority is in charge of implementing guidelines on how each county, city and town can use the funding, as well as compiling reimbursement requests through accepted documentation including invoices. Visit for more information.


State Rep. Ryan Lauer (R-Columbus) represents House District 59,
which includes portions of Bartholomew County.
Click here to download a high-resolution photo.

State Rep. Sean Eberhart (R-Shelbyville) represents House District 57,
which includes Shelby County and portions of Bartholomew and Hancock counties.

Click here to download a high-resolution photo.