Johnson County, local communities eligible for pandemic relief funds

Posted by: Samantha Holifield  | Monday, July 6, 2020 10:10 am

STATEHOUSE (July 6, 2020) – Johnson County and local communities are eligible for more than $8.6 million to cover COVID-19-related expenses through the federal stimulus package, according to area lawmakers.

"These unprecedented times called for a strong response from our local governments," said State Rep. John Young (R-Franklin). "Many of the actions taken were necessary to slow the spread of COVID-19 and keep our neighbors safe, but these efforts took a chunk out of local budgets. To get back to normal, communities can use available federal funds to cover coronavirus-related expenses."

Indiana allocated $300 million in federal funding from the Coronavirus Aid, Relief and Economics Security Act to counties and communities for reimbursement of expenditures related to the pandemic. State Rep. Chris May (R-Bedford) said the funding, allocated based on population, cannot be used to replace lost tax revenue.

"Our communities have stepped up to the task of minimizing the spread of this virus and expanding safety precautions for all Hoosiers," May said. "Responding to this crisis has resulted in unexpected costs for many, but this funding can help our local officials cover some of those expenses."

Johnson County is eligible for $5,068,529 in reimbursement funding. In addition, these communities are eligible to receive the following amounts:

  • Bargersville $250,530;
  • Edinburgh $148,495;
  • Franklin $819,140;
  • Greenwood $1,906,980;
  • New Whiteland $199,626;
  • Princes Lakes $43,539;
  • Trafalgar $41,690; and
  • Whiteland $143,336.

"While we must remain diligent to protect ourselves and others from COVID-19, we are able to move toward some semblance of normalcy," said State Rep. Dollyne Sherman (R-Indianapolis). "Local governments can use these federal funds to help cover their unexpected expenses so they can operate as planned for the rest of the year."  

The Indiana Finance Authority is in charge of implementing guidelines on how each county, city and town can use the funding, as well as compiling reimbursement requests through accepted documentation including invoices.

"Hoosiers have gone above and beyond to flatten the curve during the pandemic," said State Rep. Woody Burton (R-Whiteland). "I appreciate our local communities stepping up and providing resources to help during the last few months. Now we must work together to keep everyone healthy as we move to the final stages of the back on track plan."  

Visit for more information.




State Rep. Woody Burton (R-Whiteland) represents House District 58,
which includes a portion of Johnson County.

Click here to download a high-resolution photo.


State Rep. Chris May (R-Bedford) represents House District 65, which includes all of
Brown County, most of Lawrence County and parts of Monroe, Jackson and Johnson counties.
here to download a high-resolution photo.


State Rep. Dollyne Sherman (R-Indianapolis) represents House District 93,
which includes portions of Marion and Johnson counties.

Click here to download a high-resolution photo.


State Rep. John Young (R-Franklin) represents House District 47,
which includes portions of Johnson and Morgan counties.

Click here to download a high-resolution photo.