Johnson County Legislators: House bill to fully fund all K-12 public school students this year advances to Senate

Posted by: Samantha Holifield  | Tuesday, January 26, 2021 3:02 pm

STATEHOUSE (Jan. 26, 2021) – The Indiana House of Representatives voted today in support of legislation to fully fund all K-12 public school students for the 2020-21 school year, regardless of whether students attended classes in-person or virtually due to COVID-19.

"From investing in laptops and other electronics to ensuring students have breakfast and lunch each day, our schools have stepped up to meet the needs of our children during this unique time," said State Rep. Michelle Davis (R-Whiteland). "The state is committed to fully funding public schools this year, so students can successfully complete their classes."

Davis, an educator and member of the House Education Committee, said the pandemic caused many traditional public schools to shift from in-person classes to remote learning. Under current law, schools receive 85% of tuition support per virtual student, which is defined as a child learning 50% or more of their instruction online. She said this means many schools would qualify for the lower funding amount because of moving classes online.

"Educators have quickly made adjustments to help ensure the safety of students, while continuing their studies," said State Rep. Chris May (R-Bedford). "Schools need the reassurance they'll receive their full funding for this school year and be able to continue operating without further interruptions."

House Bill 1003, supported by Davis, May and State Rep. John Young (R-Franklin), would help mitigate requirements under current law and allow K-12 public schools to receive 100% funding for each student, whether they attended classes in-person or virtually. 

"Our state's largest investment is K-12 education," Young said. "We want to make sure students continue receiving a great education, regardless of where they are learning, and we are making good on our funding promise with this legislation."

House Bill 1003 now advances to the Senate for consideration. To learn more and watch legislative proceedings online, visit


State Rep. Michelle Davis (R-Whiteland) represents House District 58,
which includes a portion of Johnson County.
Click here to download a high-resolution photo.

State Rep. Chris May (R-Bedford) represents House District 65, which includes all of
Brown County, most of Lawrence County and parts of Monroe, Jackson and Johnson counties.

here to download a high-resolution photo.

State Rep. John Young (R-Franklin) represents House District 47,
which includes portions of Johnson and Morgan counties.
Click here to download a high-resolution photo.