Johnson County lawmakers to host public meetings Saturday

Posted by: Samantha Holifield  | Tuesday, January 7, 2020 11:22 am

STATEHOUSE (Jan. 7, 2020) — State lawmakers representing Johnson County will host two public meetings on Saturday, Jan. 11, to discuss the start of the 2020 legislative session.

State Reps. Woody Burton (R-Whiteland), Dollyne Sherman (R-Indianapolis) and John Young (R-Franklin) will discuss proposed legislation and answer questions from local Hoosiers. 

The first meeting will take place 11 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. at the Greenwood Public Library, located at 310 S. Meridian St. The second meeting will be from 1-2 p.m. at Franklin City Hall, located at 70 E. Monroe St.

“Communicating with our community continues to be my top priority,” Burton said. “Now that we are considering proposals for new laws, I want to ensure everyone has the opportunity to ask questions and provide feedback. This year, we will be addressing many topics, from education and health care costs to improving government efficiency.”

The 2020 legislative session began Jan. 6 and must conclude by mid-March.

“As the legislative session begins, I remain committed to keeping the southside informed on critical issues impacting the state,” Sherman said. “These meetings are one of the best ways to provide updates to the community and hear directly from local residents.”

In addition, Young will host another meeting from 11 a.m. to noon on Saturday, Jan. 18, at the Trafalgar Town Hall, located at 2770 W. State Road 252. 

“With legislation already being discussed at the Statehouse, it is important to stay up-to-date on potential new laws,” Young said. “There are multiple avenues to provide input on bills, and these meetings are a great opportunity for us to have an open conversation. I hope to see many community members at the meetings.”

Other elected officials have been invited to these meetings.

Johnson County residents can contact Burton, Sherman or Young by calling 317-232-9600 with questions or comments.


State Rep. Woody Burton (R-Whiteland) represents House District 58,
which includes a portion of Johnson County.

Click here to download a high-resolution photo.


State Rep. Dollyne Sherman (R-Indianapolis) represents House District 93,
which includes portions of Marion and Johnson counties.

Click here to download a high-resolution photo.


State Rep. John Young (R-Franklin) represents House District 47,
which includes portions of Johnson and Morgan counties.

Click here to download a high-resolution photo.