Hostettler, McNamara: Posey County schools receive $540K to boost remote learning resources

Posted by: Jordan Wallace  | Friday, August 28, 2020 12:00 pm

STATEHOUSE (Aug. 28, 2020) – Posey County schools recently received more than $540,000 in grants to invest in remote learning equipment and internet connectivity, according to State Reps. Matt Hostettler (R-Fort Branch) and Wendy McNamara (R-Evansville).

Hostettler said schools statewide received a total of $61 million through the Governor's Emergency Education Relief Fund, which was created by the federal CARES Act. Funding will help increase device access, internet connectivity, and educator training and development.

"Teachers work hard to accommodate students' different learning styles and needs, and access to the internet and technology are a part of that," Hostettler said. "These funds will help equip our students and teachers with more tools to engage in their schoolwork."

As part of the grant program, Metropolitan School District of Mount Vernon, St. Philip School and St. Matthew School received $513,473, and Saint Wendel Catholic School received $27,900.

According to McNamara, the GEER funding supports traditional public schools, public charter schools, accredited non-public schools, higher education institutions and other education-related entities throughout the state. She said the funding goes toward purchasing devices like Chromebooks and iPads for students, new or upgraded laptops and tablets for teachers, and mobile WiFi devices with subscription plans for households needing internet service.

"Schools and educators are working diligently to adapt to new challenges brought on by the pandemic and ensure learning continues whether students are in the classroom or at home," McNamara said. "These funds can help our schools update their technology infrastructure, which is critical to academic success as many schools offer remote learning."

A grant application could be completed by a single school corporation or a combination of eligible education entities. The 257 applications received were evaluated by a team from the Indiana Department of Education, the Indiana Commission for Higher Education and the Indiana State Board of Education.

A full list of grant recipients is available here, and the governor's official announcement is here.


State Rep. Matt Hostettler (R-Fort Branch) represents House District 64,
which includes Gibson County
and portions of Knox, Pike, Vanderburgh and Posey counties.
Click here to download a high-resolution photo.

State Rep. Wendy McNamara (R-Evansville) represents House District 76, 
which includes portions of Posey and Vanderburgh counties.

Click here to download a high-resolution photo.