Hendricks County House members named to legislative leadership roles, committees

Posted by: Courtney E Heiden  | Thursday, December 31, 2020

STATEHOUSE (Dec. 31, 2020) – Hendricks County legislators were recently reappointed to House leadership roles and standing committees.

State Rep. Bob Behning (R-Indianapolis) will again chair the House Education Committee. He will also serve on the House Utilities, Energy and Telecommunications Committee.

"Education remains a top priority for our community and the state," Behning said. "We are focused on ensuring students continue to have access to a high-quality education. With the many adjustments families and educators have had to make over the last several months, input from Hoosiers will be critical in addressing the challenges they experienced. The committee process is one of the best ways to provide input on proposed legislation and to share your story with lawmakers."

State Rep. Jeff Thompson (R-Lizton) will serve on the House Education Committee, the House Environmental Affairs Committee, and the House Committee on Ways and Means, where he will chair the K-12 subcommittee.

"Drafting the state's biennial budget this year will be a challenge, but I am confident we will be able to invest taxpayer dollars wisely in areas that matter most to Hoosiers," Thompson said. "Education is the biggest part of our budget, and we will work hard to ensure local schools continue receiving the support they need."

State Rep. Greg Steuerwald (R-Avon) remains the House Majority Caucus Chair, and will serve on the House Judiciary Committee, the House Committee on Courts and Criminal Code, and the House Statutory Committee on Ethics.

"This session will be busy as we continue making sure our communities are safe, and our public safety officials and courts have the tools needed to best serve Hoosiers," Steuerwald said. "I am ready to get to work on behalf of those in Hendricks County and support policies making Indiana the best it can be."

House standing committees will meet throughout the legislative session, kicking off Jan. 4, to consider legislation impacting Hoosiers.

Access committee hearings, calendars and agendas online at iga.in.gov. Visit IndianaHouseRepublicans.com or click here for the full list of House standing committee appointments.


State Rep. Bob Behning (R-Indianapolis) represents House District 91,
which includes portions of Hendricks and Marion counties.

Click here to download a high-resolution photo.

State Rep. Greg Steuerwald (R-Avon) represents House District 40,
which includes a portion of Hendricks County.
here to download a high-resolution photo.

State Rep. Jeff Thompson (R-Lizton) represents House District 28,
which includes portions of Hendricks and Boone counties.
here to download a high-resolution photo.