Heaton: Local student named to Governorís STEM Team

Heaton: Local student named to Governorís STEM Team

Posted by: Brenda Holmes  | Wednesday, May 30, 2018

STATEHOUSE (May 30, 2018) — Terre Haute South Vigo High School senior John Dalloul has been named to the 2018 Governor’s STEM Team, according to State Rep. Bob Heaton (R-Terre Haute).

Heaton said Dalloul is 1 of 4 high school students selected for their work in science, technology, engineering or math. Dalloul is the science winner and will receive a $1,000 college scholarship through Indiana’s CollegeChoice 529 Direct Savings Plan and a letterman jacket identifying him as a member of Gov. Eric Holcomb’s STEM Team.

“Science, technology, engineering and math skills are key to developing the workforce Indiana needs,” Heaton said. “It’s exciting to see a local student so dedicated to research that he wins as a state-wide competition with other elite competitors.”

As the science winner, Dalloul demonstrated a deep interest in chemistry and biology. He is the vice president of the National Honor Society, conducts research in the Drosophila lab at Indiana State University and volunteers at the Providence Medical Center.

Dalloul has presented his research at a number of local and national conferences, such as the Indiana Academy of Science and the National Drosophila Conference. He hopes to attend Stanford or Princeton University to study medicine and continue helping others.

Holcomb on Tuesday at the Statehouse honored Dalloul and technology winner Abraham Oliver, a senior at Brown County High School; engineering winner Megan Singer, a senior at Carmel High School; and math winner Trevor Vogel, a senior at Jennings County High School 

Students were nominated for the Governor’s STEM Team earlier this year, and a panel of STEM professionals, teachers, and university representatives evaluated more than 100 applications to select the winners based on academic performance, work in research, leadership, community service and extracurricular involvement.


State Rep. Bob Heaton (R-Terre Haute) represents House District 46,
which includes portions of Owen, Clay, Vigo and Monroe counties.


PHOTO CAPTION: STEM Team science winner John Dalloul, a senior at Terre Haute South Vigo High School, receives a personalized letter jacket from Gov. Eric Holcomb at the Statehouse on Tuesday, May 29, 2018. Dalloul also received a $1,000 scholarship through Indiana’s CollegeChoice 529 Direct Savings Plan.