Greene County, local communities eligible for pandemic relief funds

Posted by: Wade Coggeshall  | Friday, June 26, 2020

STATEHOUSE (June 26, 2020) – Greene County and local communities are eligible for more than $1.4 million to cover COVID-19-related expenses through the federal stimulus package, according to State Reps. Jeff Ellington (R-Bloomington) and Bruce Borders (R-Jasonville).

"Fighting this virus does not come without economic consequences," said State Rep. Jeff Ellington (R-Bloomington). "So many local officials have worked tirelessly to keep Hoosiers safe, and I'm grateful this funding is available to help our local governments recover."

Indiana allocated $300 million in federal funding from the Coronavirus Aid, Relief and Economics Security Act to counties and communities for reimbursement of expenditures related to the pandemic. Borders said the funding, allocated based on population, cannot be used to replace lost tax revenue.

"Slowing the spread of this outbreak required a rapid response from our community leaders," Borders said. "This funding can help with some of the unexpected costs needed to keep our neighbors safe."

Greene County is eligible for $1,038,395 in reimbursement funding. In addition, the following communities are also eligible to receive the following amounts:

  • Bloomfield $74,134;
  • Jasonville $69,364;
  • Linton $169,032;
  • Lyons $23,197;
  • Newberry $6,002;
  • Switz City $9,149; and
  • Worthington $45,551.

The Indiana Finance Authority is in charge of implementing guidelines on how each county, city and town can use the funding, as well as compiling reimbursement requests through accepted documentation including invoices. Visit for more information.


State Rep. Jeff Ellington (R-Bloomington) represents House District 62, which includes
portions of Greene, Monroe, Martin and Daviess counties.
Click here to download a high-resolution photo.

State Rep. Bruce Borders (R-Jasonville) represents House District 45, which includes
all of Sullivan County and portions of Vigo, Greene, Knox and Daviess counties.
Click here to download a high-resolution photo.