Grant County, local communities eligible for pandemic relief funds

Posted by: Andi TenBarge  | Thursday, May 28, 2020

STATEHOUSE (May 28, 2020) – Grant County and local communities are eligible for more than $3.6 million to cover COVID-19-related expenses through the federal stimulus package, according to local lawmakers.

"Communities across our state are incurring unexpected expenses to fight this virus," said State Rep. Tony Cook (R-Cicero). "This funding provides an opportunity to recoup some money spent on resources that are needed to slow the spread of COVID-19 and protect Hoosiers' health."

Cook said Indiana allocated $300 million in federal funding from the Coronavirus Aid, Relief and Economics Security Act to counties and communities for reimbursement of expenditures related to the pandemic. State Rep. Mike Karickhoff (R-Kokomo) said the funding, allocated based on population, cannot be used to replace lost tax revenue.

"Many of our cities, town and counties continue to face unexpected expenses related to the pandemic," Karickhoff said. "From equipping first responders with personal protective gear to assisting local businesses, this federal funding is welcomed as communities work to fully reopen."

Grant County is eligible for $2,139,213 in reimbursement funding. In addition, these communities are eligible to receive the following amounts:

  • Fairmount $90,031;
  • Fowlerton $8,013;
  • Gas City $186,778;
  • Jonesboro $53,564;
  • Marion $909,950;
  • Matthews $18,136;
  • Swayzee $29,718;
  • Sweetser $37,537; 
  • Upland $120,982; and
  • Van Buren $26,409.

The Indiana Finance Authority is in charge of implementing guidelines on how each county, city and town can use the funding, as well as compiling reimbursement requests through accepted documentation including invoices. Visit for more information.


State Rep. Tony Cook (R-Cicero) represents House District 32, which includes all of

Tipton County and portions of Hamilton, Madison, Delaware, Howard and Grant counties.

Click here to download a high-resolution photo.

State Rep. Mike Karickhoff (R-Kokomo) represents House District 30,
which includes portions of Grant and Howard counties. 

Click here to download a high-resolution photo.