Grant County communities awarded over $1 million for road projects

Posted by: Lydia Kirschner  | Tuesday, December 15, 2020 10:37 am

STATEHOUSE (Dec. 15, 2020) – Local communities recently received more than $1 million in state matching grants for road and bridge improvements, according to Grant County lawmakers.  

Over 240 Indiana cities, towns and counties received a combined total of more than $101 million through the Community Crossings Matching Grant program, which was created through a 2016 law supported by State Reps. Tony Cook (R-Cicero) and Mike Karickhoff (R-Kokomo). Grants are made available through the Indiana Department of Transportation.

"This funding further shows our commitment to helping local communities make much-needed road improvements that they otherwise may not have been able to make," Cook said. "Our roads are vital in ensuring Hoosiers can get to where they need to go and transport goods from one community to another across our state."

Grant County received $812,739 for local road and bridge projects. In addition, Jonesboro received $116,128 in matching grants and Van Buren received $106,549.

Karickhoff said this funding can be used for road and bridge preservation, road reconstruction, intersection improvements, guardrail replacements and signage. Smaller municipalities must provide a 25 percent match in local funds, while large communities must provide a 50 percent match.

"This program makes it possible for communities large and small to take advantage of state funding," Karickhoff said. "Now, these communities can move ahead with important projects."

In total, State Rep. Ann Vermilion (R-Marion) said more than $830 million has been distributed for local road projects through the Community Crossings program. State law requires annually that 50 percent of the available matching funds be awarded to communities within counties with a population of 50,000 or fewer. 

"Investing in our local infrastructure is a key component of our economic growth and vitality," Vermilion said. "When we provide a strong network of roads and bridges, especially without taking on loads of debt, we are sending out a strong signal to job creators that Indiana is open for business and ready for them to succeed here."

More information about the program and recipients can be found online at


State Rep. Tony Cook (R-Cicero) represents House District 32, which includes all of Tipton County and

portions of Hamilton, Madison, Delaware, Howard and Grant counties.

Click here to download a high-resolution photo.


State Rep. Mike Karickhoff (R-Kokomo) represents House District 30,
which includes portions of Grant and Howard counties. 

Click here to download a high-resolution photo.


State Rep. Ann Vermilion (R-Marion) represents House District 31,

which includes all of Blackford County and portions of Delaware, Grant and Wells counties.

Click here to download a high-resolution photo.