Governor signs Behning's legislation replacing ISTEP

Governor signs Behning's legislation replacing ISTEP

Posted by: Samantha Holifield  | Thursday, June 8, 2017 10:04 am

STATEHOUSE (June 8, 2017) — Gov. Eric Holcomb ceremonially signed into law Wednesday State Rep. Bob Behning’s (R-Indianapolis) legislation replacing ISTEP with Indiana’s Learning Evaluation Assessment Readiness Network (ILEARN).

“We’ve been working with educators and testing experts to find a replacement for the troubled ISTEP exam,” said Behning, chair of the House Committee on Education. “Last year, a 23-member panel, comprised of mostly educators, spent several months studying different assessment options. ILEARN encompasses a majority of the panel’s recommendations. Hoosiers can expect a test that provides quicker results for students and teachers.”   

Under House Enrolled Act 1003, Indiana’s new statewide assessment will be given during a single testing window at the end of the year. Behning said this will better measure student proficiency and growth toward Indiana standards and their college and career readiness. ILEARN will first be administered in 2019. 

In addition, Behning said this legislation will provide new, multiple pathways for students to choose from to meet Indiana graduation requirements. 

“Not every student has the same career goal,” Behning said. “It’s important that we give them the opportunity to choose a path that best fits their aspirations and skill sets, whether that be entering the workforce immediately after high school or receiving some form of postsecondary education.” 

House Enrolled Act 1003 will go into effect on July 1. Visit to learn more about this legislation.


State Rep. Bob Behning (R-Indianapolis) represents House District 91,
which includes portions of Hendricks and Marion counties. 

A high-resolution photo of Behning can be downloaded by clicking here.


Pictured: Gov. Eric Holcomb signs State Rep. Bob Behning’s (R-Indianapolis) legislation replacing ISTEP in the governor’s office at the Statehouse in Indianapolis on Wednesday, June 7, 2017. Educators who support the law attended the signing, pictured left to right in the back row: Joe Mount, Elsie Owolo, Mary Gardner, Jessica Carlson, Allison Larty, Katheryn Kirchner, Eddie Rangel, Melissa Scherle and Carlotta Cooprider. Pictured left to right in the front row: Behning, Holcomb and State Sen. Dennis Kruse (R-Auburn).