Governor Holcomb signs McNamara's 'failure to yield' bill into law

Posted by: Jordan Wallace  | Monday, March 30, 2020

STATEHOUSE (March 30, 2020) – Gov. Eric Holcomb recently signed State Rep. Wendy McNamara's (R-Evansville) bill into law increasing penalties for reckless drivers who cause serious injury or death to emergency workers.

McNamara, chair of the House Courts and Criminal Code Committee, said the idea for this law stems from a local tragedy. Allan Gansman, a former Evansville Police Officer, was helping a stranded motorist at the side of the road when he was struck by a distracted driver. McNamara said Gansman suffers from lifelong injuries while the driver was only ticketed.

"This law underscores the need for drivers to keep their eyes on the road and look out for our emergency workers who are risking their lives to keep Hoosiers safe," McNamara said. "Everyone on the road can do their part to help first responders by slowing down and moving over."

McNamara said the new law raises the infraction to a level 6 felony, which is punishable by at least six months in jail, and a fine of up to $10,000 if a driver fails to yield to an emergency vehicle, causing serious injury or death.

When drivers see an emergency vehicle stopped on the side of the road they should move over a lane or slow to at least 10 mph below the posted speed limit and proceed with caution. McNamara said violating Indiana's "move over" law may result in a fine and a two-year license suspension.

House Enrolled Act 1225 was recently signed by Gov. Eric Holcomb and goes into effect July 1, 2020. Visit for more information.


State Rep. Wendy McNamara (R-Evansville) represents House District 76, 
which includes portions of Posey and Vanderburgh counties.

Click here to download a high-resolution photo.