Future educator scholarship awarded to Marion County students

Posted by: Samantha Holifield  | Wednesday, May 2, 2018 1:54 pm

STATEHOUSE (May 2, 2018) — Students in Marion County planning to pursue a career in education were selected to receive the Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship, according to local lawmakers.

State Reps. Bob Behning (R-Indianapolis), Dave Frizzell (R-Indianapolis), Cindy Kirchhofer (R-Beech Grove) and Mike Speedy (R-Indianapolis) supported legislation creating this scholarship program. Behning said the scholarship is awarded to top-performing students who commit to teaching in Indiana for five consecutive years.

“Educators are the driving force behind student success,” said Behning, chair of the House Committee on Education. “This scholarship encourages the best and the brightest to enter the teaching profession and make a difference in students’ lives. It is great to see so many young Hoosiers entering college to earn their degree in education, and I wish these future teachers the best.” 

Frizzell said the Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship is available to 200 high-achieving high school and college students each year who either graduate in the top 20 percent of their high school class or earn a score in the top-20th percentile on the SAT or ACT. 

“In order to provide the best education possible for our students, we must continue to invest in our teachers,” Frizzell said. “This scholarship will help grow our already great teaching profession and encourage more students to consider a career in this field.” 

According to Kirchhofer, recipients will receive $7,500 per year for up to four years to obtain a teaching license.

“Teachers spend their entire professional career giving back to the community,” Kirchhofer said. “This scholarship will alleviate some of the financial burden often felt by college students. Helping out with the cost of tuition is just a small step to encourage high-achieving students to enter the teaching profession.”

Speedy said in order for students to continue receiving the scholarship in college, students must earn a 3.0 cumulative GPA and complete at least 30 credit hours per year. 

“Studies show one of the most important factors in a student’s success is a great teacher,” Speedy said. “Recruiting top-performing Hoosier students to pursue an education career and make a commitment to teach in Indiana will equip our classrooms with passionate, talented leaders.” 

More than 500 students applied, and 200 scholarships were recently awarded to highly qualified students across the state, including these recipients from Marion County: 

  • Dayla Bedford, Thomas Carr Howe Community High School, Indiana University-Bloomington;
  • Abigail Fitzwater, University High School of Indiana, Butler University;
  • Anne Hofmann, Lawrence North High School, Purdue University-West Lafayette;
  • Taylor Hooton, Perry Meridian High School, Indiana State University;
  • Elizabeth Kassab, Lebanon Senior High School, Marian University;
  • Whitney King, Emmerich Manual High School, Indiana University-Bloomington;
  • Matthew Lee, Ben Davis High School, Franklin College;
  • Caroline Mages, Cathedral High School, Saint Mary’s College;
  • Alison Matlock, Southport High School, Marian University;
  • Jozina McDorman, Pike High School, Marian University;
  • Nicholas Mennel, Herron High School, Bethel College; and
  • Paige Soughan, Perry Meridian High School, Indiana Wesleyan University.

“We’re encouraged to have so many driven, passionate students applying for this teacher scholarship, and we look forward to the positive impact they will have in classrooms and school communities across Indiana,” said Indiana Commissioner for Higher Education Teresa Lubbers. 

The 2019-2020 application will be available beginning in the fall. Visit www.LearnMoreIndiana.org/nextteacher for more information.


State Rep. Bob Behning (R-Indianapolis) represents House District 91,

which includes portions of Hendricks and Marion counties.

A high-resolution photo of Behning can be downloaded by clicking here


State Rep. Dave Frizzell (R-Indianapolis) represents House District 93,

which includes portions of Johnson and Marion counties.

A high-resolution photo of Frizzell can be downloaded by clicking here.


State Rep. Kirchhofer (R-Beech Grove) represents House District 89,

which includes portions of Marion County.

A high-resolution photo of Kirchhofer can be downloaded by clicking here.


State Rep. Mike Speedy (R-Indianapolis) represents House District 90,

which includes portions of Marion County.

A high-resolution photo of Speedy can be downloaded by here.