Future educator scholarship awarded to Johnson County students

Posted by: Samantha Holifield  | Wednesday, May 2, 2018 1:59 pm

STATEHOUSE (May 2, 2018) — Students in Johnson County planning to pursue a career in education were selected to receive the Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship, according to local lawmakers.

State Reps. Woody Burton (R-Whiteland) and Dave Frizzell (R-Indianapolis) supported legislation creating this scholarship program. Burton said the scholarship is awarded to top-performing students who commit to teaching in Indiana for five consecutive years.

“Already, we have some of the best educators teaching in our local schools,” Burton said. “This scholarship recognizes the best and brightest students considering a career in education and incentivizes them stay in an Indiana classroom and continue to drive student success for years to come.”

Frizzell said the Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship is available to 200 high-achieving high school and college students each year who either graduate in the top 20 percent of their high school class or earn a score in the top-20th percentile on the SAT or ACT.

“In order to provide the best education possible for our students, we must continue to invest in our teachers,” Frizzell said. “This scholarship will help grow our already great teaching profession and encourage more students to consider a career in this field.”

According to State Rep. John Young (R-Franklin), in order for students to continue receiving the scholarship in college, students must earn a 3.0 cumulative GPA and complete at least 30 credit hours per year.  Recipients will receive $7,500 per year for up to four years to obtain a teaching license.

“Great educators are crucial to student success,” Young said. “Providing this scholarship is just one way we can alleviate some of the financial burden felt by college students and ensure Hoosier classrooms are being led by strong, passionate educators. I wish the best for these future teachers.” 

More than 500 students applied, and 200 scholarships were recently awarded to highly qualified students across the state, including these recipients from Johnson County:

  • Bailey Evans, Greenwood Community High School, University of Indianapolis;
  • McKenzie Harold, Whiteland Community High School, Franklin College;
  • Marlena Leininger, Greenwood Community High School, Ball State University;
  • Morgan Rayner, Center Grove High School, Purdue University-West Lafayette;
  • Madelynn Robbins, Center Grove High School, Indiana University-Bloomington; and
  • Kaylee Swank, Greenwood Community High School, Ball State University. 

“We’re encouraged to have so many driven, passionate students applying for this teacher scholarship, and we look forward to the positive impact they will have in classrooms and school communities across Indiana,” said Indiana Commissioner for Higher Education Teresa Lubbers.

The 2019-2020 application will be available beginning in the fall. Visit www.LearnMoreIndiana.org/nextteacher for more information.


State Rep. Woody Burton (R-Whiteland) represents House District 58,

which includes a portion of Johnson County.

A high-resolution photo of Burton can be downloaded by clicking here.


State Rep. Dave Frizzell (R-Indianapolis) represents House District 93,

which includes portions of Johnson and Marion counties. 

A high-resolution photo of Frizzell can be downloaded by clicking here.


State Rep. John Young (R-Franklin) represents House District 47,

which includes portions of Johnson and Morgan counties. 

A high-resolution photo of Young can be downloaded by clicking here.