Future educator scholarship awarded to Floyd County students

Posted by: Abigail Campbell  | Wednesday, May 2, 2018

STATEHOUSE (May 2, 2018) — Two Floyd County students planning to pursue a career in education were selected to receive the Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship, according to State Rep. Ed Clere (R-New Albany) and Karen Engleman (R-Georgetown).

Clere said the scholarship, which was created by 2016 legislation, is awarded to high-achieving students who commit to teaching in Indiana for five consecutive years. Recipients receive $7,500 per year for up to four years to obtain a degree.

"This program provides an incentive for top students to pursue a career in education," Clere said. "It is very competitive, and the scholarship recipients have demonstrated both a commitment to their own education and to teaching. Indiana is investing in future educators and, as a result, in the future of our state. Congratulations to the two recipients from Floyd County."

The Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship is available to 200 high school and college students each year who either graduate in the top 20 percent of their high school class or earn a score in the top-20th percentile on the SAT or ACT.

Engleman said that in order for students to continue receiving the scholarship, they must maintain a 3.0 cumulative GPA and complete at least 30 credit hours per year.

“Teaching is best put in the hands of individuals who are driven and passionate about educating young Hoosiers,” Engleman said. “These recipients have already exhibited academic excellence and have made the commitment to begin their education careers in Indiana classrooms.”

More than 500 students applied. The two recipients from Floyd County are:

  • Anna Perkins, Floyd Central High School, Franklin College; and
  • Levacy Quinn, New Albany Senior High School, Ball State University.

“We’re encouraged to have so many driven, passionate students applying for this teacher scholarship, and we look forward to the positive impact they will have in classrooms and school communities across Indiana,” said Indiana Commissioner for Higher Education Teresa Lubbers.

The 2019-2020 application will be available beginning in the fall. Visit www.LearnMoreIndiana.org/nextteacher for more information.


State Rep. Ed Clere (R-New Albany) represents House District 72, which includes
most of Floyd County, including New Albany, Georgetown and Floyds Knobs.

A high-resolution photo of Clere can be downloaded by clicking here.

State Rep. Karen Engleman (R-Georgetown) represents House District 70,

which includes portions of Clark, Floyd and Harrison counties.

A high-resolution photo of Engleman can be downloaded by clicking here.