Fulton County awarded over $198,000 for road projects

Posted by: Andi TenBarge  | Tuesday, December 22, 2020

STATEHOUSE (Dec. 22, 2020) – Fulton County recently received $198,900 in a state matching grant for road and bridge improvements, according to local lawmakers.  

Over 240 Indiana cities, towns and counties received a combined total of more than $101 million through the Community Crossings Matching Grant program, which was created in 2016 and expanded in 2017 through laws supported by State Rep. Doug Gutwein (R-Francesville). Grants are made available through the Indiana Department of Transportation.

"Building up our local infrastructure is important for Fulton County's growth," Gutwein said. "We depend on quality roads, and this funding will help us move ahead on much-needed projects."

State Rep. Jack Jordan (R-Bremen) said the funding can be used for road and bridge preservation, road reconstruction, intersection improvements, guardrail replacements and signage. Smaller municipalities must provide a 25 percent match in local funds, while large communities must provide a 50 percent match.

"We rely on our roads to travel safely, whether that’s to the grocery store or across the state," Jordan said. "Maintaining our local infrastructure is vital to our community's economy and quality of life, and this money will help our area make critical investments for the future."

In total, State Rep. Ethan Manning (R-Denver) said more than $830 million has been distributed for local road projects through the Community Crossings program. State law requires annually that 50 percent of the available matching funds be awarded to communities within counties with a population of 50,000 or fewer. 


"This program relieves some of the financial burden on local governments when it comes to road projects and maintenance because the costs can quickly add up," Manning said. "Many of the projects funded through Community Crossings would not have been possible without the state's commitment."

More information about the program and recipients can be found online at in.gov/indot/communitycrossings.  


State Rep. Douglas Gutwein (R-Francesville) represents House District 16, which
includes all of Pulaski County and portions of Fulton, Jasper, Newton and Starke counties.
here to download a high-resolution photo.

State Rep. Jack Jordan (R-Bremen) represents House District 17,

which includes all of Marshall County and a portion of Fulton County.

Click here to download a high-resolution photo.

State Rep. Ethan Manning (R-Denver) represents House District 23,

which includes portions of Cass, Fulton and Miami counties.

Click here to download a high-resolution photo.