Engleman: Local students receive first-ever educator scholarship

Posted by: Emily Gaylord  | Thursday, May 18, 2017

STATEHOUSE (May 18, 2017) — Local students planning to pursue a career in education are among the recipients of this year’s Next Generation Hoosier Educator Scholarship, according to State Rep. Karen Engleman (R-Georgetown).

“Keeping the best and the brightest in Hoosier classrooms is key to students’ academic success,” Engleman said. “This scholarship program incentivizes highly motivated and passionate future teachers to stay and teach in our state and ensures we have quality educators in Indiana schools. Congratulations to our local Next Generation Hoosier Educator Scholarship recipients.”

According to Engleman, the Next Generation Hoosier Educator Scholarship pays $7,500 per year for up to four years to students who obtain their teaching license and commit to teaching in Indiana for five consecutive years. The scholarship is available to 200 high-achieving high school and college students each year who either graduate in the top 20 percent of their class or earn a score in the top 20th percentile on the SAT or ACT.

Over 600 students applied, and 200 scholarships were awarded to highly qualified students across the state, including these recipients from Clark and Harrison counties:

Clark County

  • Whitney Andrews, Charlestown Senior High School, Anderson University
  • Hannah Nunn, Henryville Jr./Sr. High School, Indiana State University

Harrison County

  • Montana Brooks, Corydon Central High School, Indiana University Southeast
  • Jordan Wallace, Corydon Central High School, Ball State University

“The Commission wants to congratulate all 200 of the students who were chosen to receive the Next Generation Hoosier Educator Scholarship,” Indiana Commissioner for Higher Education Teresa Lubbers said. “We were encouraged by the high-quality applicants and know these future teachers will have a positive impact in Indiana classroom.”

The 2018-2019 application will be available beginning in the fall. Visit www.LearnMoreIndiana.org/nextteacher for more information. 


State Rep. Karen Engleman (R-Georgetown) represents House District 70, which includes

portions of Clark, Floyd and Harrison counties.

A high-resolution photo of Engleman can be downloaded by clicking here.