Engleman, Davisson: Harrison County, local communities eligible for pandemic relief funds

Posted by: Randy Spieth  | Friday, May 22, 2020

STATEHOUSE (May 22, 2020) – Harrison County and local towns are eligible for more than $1.5 million to cover COVID-19-related expenses through the federal stimulus package, according to State Reps. Karen Engleman (R-Georgetown) and Steve Davisson (R-Salem).

Indiana allocated $300 million in federal funding from the Coronavirus Aid, Relief and Economics Security Act to counties and communities for reimbursement of expenditures related to the pandemic. Engleman said the funding, allocated based on population, cannot be used to replace lost tax revenue.

"I know our local officials have been taking steps to protect our county and town workers, along with the public as government buildings reopen for business," Engleman said. "Many of these measures can be reimbursed with these funds."

Harrison County is eligible for $1,309,106 in reimbursement funding. In addition, these local towns are eligible to receive the following amounts:

  • Corydon $102,652;
  • Crandall $4,996;
  • Elizabeth $6,715;
  • Laconia $1,654;
  • Lanesville $18,687;
  • Mauckport $2,660;
  • Milltown $26,474;
  • New Amsterdam $908;
  • New Middletown $3,049; and
  • Palmyra $30,821.

Davisson said local townships seeking reimbursement for eligible COVID-19 expenses should coordinate with their county government.

"So far every community has been impacted differently by this disease," Davisson said. "While we don't know how costly the outbreak will be from town to town until it is over, our local governments should consider these funds as a way to recoup expenses related to COVID-19."

The Indiana Finance Authority is in charge of implementing guidelines on how each county, city and town can use the funding, as well as compiling reimbursement requests through accepted documentation including invoices. Visit in.gov/ifa for more information.


State Rep. Steve Davisson (R-Salem) represents House District 73, which includes
Washington County, and portions of Jackson, Lawrence, Orange, Clark and Harrison counties.

Click here to download a high-resolution photo.

State Rep. Karen Engleman (R-Georgetown) represents House District 70,
which includes most of Harrison County, along with portions of Clark and Floyd counties.
here to download a high-resolution photo.