Ellington, Lindauer announce Martin County student recipient of $7,500 teaching scholarship

Posted by: Wade Coggeshall and Jordan Wallace  | Friday, April 24, 2020

STATEHOUSE (April 24, 2020) — Loogootee High School student Cassidy Esch recently received the Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship, according to State Reps. Jeff Ellington (R-Bloomington) and Shane Lindauer (R-Jasper).

The statewide program awards scholarships to top-performing students who commit to teaching in Indiana for at least five years. Recipients receive $7,500 per year for up to four years of college to obtain a teaching license. The program began in 2017 thanks to legislation Ellington supported.

"Teachers are one of the biggest influences on our children outside of parents," Ellington said. "With this scholarship, Cassidy will be pursuing this noble calling and staying in the Hoosier state."

According to Lindauer, the Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship is available to 200 high-achieving high school and college students each year who either graduate in the top 20% of their high school class or earn a score in the top-20th percentile on the SAT or ACT.

"Many of these scholarship recipients were inspired by their teachers' unwavering support," Lindauer said. "Now Cassidy can save on college costs and share her passion for learning with the next generation."

Esch was among more than 350 students who applied statewide. She plans on attending Ball State University this fall.

Recipients must earn a 3.0 cumulative GPA and complete at least 30 credit hours per year in order to continue receiving the four-year renewable scholarship totaling $30,000.

“Congratulations to all 200 students, who are on their way to becoming impactful, future Hoosier teachers,” said Indiana Commissioner for Higher Education Teresa Lubbers. “We know these students have the passion and determination to make a difference in classrooms across the state.” 

The 2020-2021 application will be available in the fall. Visit LearnMoreIndiana.org/nextteacher for more information.


State Rep. Jeff Ellington (R-Bloomington) represents House District 62, which includes
portions of Greene, Monroe, Martin and Daviess counties.
Click here to download a high-resolution photo.

State Rep. Shane Lindauer (R- Jasper) represents House District 63,
which includes portions of Daviess, Dubois, Pike and Martin counties.
Click here to download a high-resolution photo.