DeVon, Wesco: Don't miss Oct. 5 voter registration deadline

Posted by: Allison Vanatsky  | Thursday, September 24, 2020

STATEHOUSE (Sept. 24, 2020) – State Rep. Dale DeVon (R-Granger) and Tim Wesco (R-Osceola) encourage local residents to register to vote or check their registration status before the Oct. 5 deadline using the state's online voter portal at

"As Americans, our vote is one of the strongest forms of expression. Your participation in this election will have an impact on local, state and federal issues over the next few years," DeVon said. "I recommend taking just a few minutes to check your voter registration and personal information at Especially Hoosiers who moved in the last year."

DeVon said Hoosiers can also go to ahead of the deadline to verify their registration is active and update the personal information in their voter record. Once completed, registration forms can be submitted online, or printed and mailed or hand delivered to the county voter registration official or the Indiana Election Division.

"We rely on elections to ensure this great American experiment continues to operate for the people," said Wesco, chair of the House Elections and Apportionment Committee. "Early voting begins October 6 and Hoosiers will have the next month to cast their ballot. Don't miss your chance to make your voice heard."

To register, Indiana residents must be at least 18 years old on or before Nov. 3, have a valid Indiana Driver's License or Indiana State Identification Card, be a citizen of the United States, have lived in the same precinct for at least 30 days before Nov. 3, and not be currently imprisoned after being convicted of a crime. Those who do not have a driver's license or state ID can register to vote in person at county government centers, public assistance offices and when completing a Bureau of Motor Vehicles transaction.

In-person early voting begins Oct. 6, and Wesco said the state is providing masks, gloves, hand sanitizer and disinfectants to local election officials to protect poll workers, election staff and voters. For early vote locations and hours, to see who is on the ballot and additional information regarding Election Day on Nov. 3, visit


State Rep. Dale DeVon (R-Granger) represents House District 5, which includes portions of St. Joseph County.

Click here to download a high-resolution photo.

State Rep. Tim Wesco (R-Osceola) represents House District 21, which includes portions of Elkhart and St. Joseph counties.

Click here to download a high-resolution photo.