DeVon: Local students receive first-ever educator scholarship

Posted by: Tori Klimczak  | Friday, May 19, 2017 9:17 am

STATEHOUSE (May 19, 2017) — Local students planning to pursue a career in education are among the recipients of this year’s Next Generation Hoosier Educator Scholarship, according to State Rep. Dale DeVon (R-Granger).

DeVon supported legislation creating this scholarship program last year to help incentivize top-performing students to pursue a career teaching in Hoosier classrooms. 

“Indiana is full of passionate and dedicated educators,” DeVon said. “This scholarship program is intended to maintain that standard by attracting high-performing students to the profession. Congratulations to the future teachers from our community who have earned this scholarship through their hard work.”

According to DeVon, the Next Generation Hoosier Educator Scholarship pays $7,500 per year for up to four years to students who obtain their teaching license and commit to teaching in Indiana for five consecutive years. The scholarship is available to 200 high-achieving high school and college students each year who either graduate in the top 20 percent of their class or earn a score in the top 20th percentile on the SAT or ACT.

Over 600 students applied, and 200 scholarships were awarded to highly qualified students across the state, including these recipients from St. Joseph County:

  • Rebecca Byers, Mishawaka High School, Ball State University
  • Abigail Grover, Mishawaka High School, Purdue University West Lafayette
  • Theresa Leyba, Clay High School, Ball State University
  • Jessica Winkel, New Prairie High School, Purdue University West Lafayette

“The Commission wants to congratulate all 200 of the students who were chosen to receive the Next Generation Hoosier Educator Scholarship,” Indiana Commissioner for Higher Education Teresa Lubbers said. “We were encouraged by the high-quality applicants and know these future teachers will have a positive impact in Indiana classroom.”

The 2018-2019 application will be available beginning in the fall. Visit for more information.  


State Rep. Dale DeVon (R-Granger) represents House District 5,

which includes parts of St. Joseph county. 

A high-resolution photo of DeVon can be downloaded by clicking here.