Delaware County, local communities eligible for pandemic relief funds

Posted by: Lydia Kirschner  | Thursday, June 4, 2020 10:22 am

STATEHOUSE (June 4, 2020) – Delaware County and local communities are eligible for more than $6.5 million to cover COVID-19-related expenses through the federal stimulus package, according to local lawmakers.

"Communities across our state are incurring unexpected expenses to fight this virus," said State Rep. Tony Cook (R-Cicero). "This funding provides an opportunity to recoup some money spent on resources that are needed to slow the spread of COVID-19 and protect Hoosiers' health."

Cook said Indiana allocated $300 million in federal funding from the Coronavirus Aid, Relief and Economics Security Act to counties and communities for reimbursement of expenditures related to the pandemic. State Rep. J.D. Prescott (R-Union City) said the funding, allocated based on population, cannot be used to replace lost tax revenue.

"Every community throughout the state has been affected by COVID-19 in some way," Prescott said. "Many have had unexpected costs, whether for personal protective equipment or testing locations, and these expenses have taken a toll on local budgets. Towns, cities and counties that have these coronavirus-related expenditures are eligible for this funding to help them weather this outbreak."

Delaware County is eligible for $3,723,637 in reimbursement funding. In addition, these communities are eligible to receive the following amounts:

  • Albany $69,786;
  • Daleville $53,499;
  • Eaton $56,257;
  • Gaston $27,706;
  • Muncie $2,223,339;
  • Selma $26,798; and
  • Yorktown $361,975.

State Rep. Ann Vermilion (R-Marion) said local townships seeking reimbursement for eligible COVID-19 expenses should coordinate with their county government.

"Our state has done a great job in prioritizing Hoosier's safety during this public health emergency," Vermilion said. "For some local governments, this has created an added financial cost. Hopefully they can put this federal funding to good use in order to help offset their COVID-19 expenses."

The Indiana Finance Authority is in charge of implementing guidelines on how each county, city and town can use the funding, as well as compiling reimbursement requests through accepted documentation including invoices. Visit for more information.


 State Rep. Tony Cook (R-Cicero) represents House District 32, which includes all of Tipton County

and portions of Hamilton, Madison, Delaware, Howard and Grant counties.

Click here to download a high-resolution photo.


State Rep. J.D. Prescott (R-Union City) represents House District 33, which

includes Jay and Randolph counties, and a portion of Delaware County.

Click here to download a high-resolution photo.


State Rep. Ann Vermilion (R-Marion) represents House District 31,

which includes all of Blackford County and portions of Delaware,

Grant and Wells counties.

Click here to download a high-resolution photo.