Davisson, Engleman announce new law protecting West Clark teachers

Posted by: Randy Spieth  | Tuesday, July 7, 2020

STATEHOUSE (July 7, 2020) – As West Clark Community Schools are reconfigured, State Reps. Steve Davisson (R-Salem) and Karen Engleman (R-Georgetown) said a new law ensures teachers within that school corporation have their contracts upheld.

With voters living in the West Clark Community School district approving a June 2 referendum, the district will be divided into the Silver Creek Community School Corp. and Borden/Henryville School Corp. Davisson, who represents the Henryville area, voted in support of the new law, House Enrolled Act 1066, protecting teacher contracts despite the split.

"We took steps through passing a new law to protect teachers at West Clark Schools as everyone goes through this transition," Davisson said. "While the voters have spoken, teachers should know they will get paid based on their already approved contracts and will not need to renegotiate in a time crunch."

Engleman, who represents Carr, Silver Creek and Wood townships in Clark County, said under the law, impacted teachers who received a rating of effective or highly effective in their annual performance reviews will receive employment preferences at the newly created districts.

"This law works to ensure good teachers can continue leading local classrooms and helping our students succeed," Engleman said. "This reconfiguration presents some obstacles, but we can still come together to make sure our schools are strong and our teachers are supported."  

Last year, West Clark Community Schools received permission from the Indiana State Board of Education to hold a referendum to decide if Silver Creek forms its own school district, while Borden and Henryville form their own. As of July 1, each district is now governed by a new school board.

To learn more about House Enrolled Act 1066, visit iga.in.gov.


State Rep. Steve Davisson (R-Salem) represents House District 73, which includes
Washington County, and portions of Jackson, Lawrence, Orange, Clark and Harrison counties.
Click here to download a high-resolution photo.

State Rep. Karen Engleman (R-Georgetown) represents House District 70,
which includes most of Harrison County, along with portions of Clark and Floyd counties.
Click here to download a high-resolution photo.