Davis, Young: State awards over $3M to help drive local road projects

Posted by: Samantha Holifield  | Friday, April 30, 2021 11:56 am

STATEHOUSE (April 30, 2021) – Indiana recently awarded more than $3 million in state matching grants to Johnson County communities for road and bridge improvements, according to State Reps. Michelle Davis (R-Whiteland) and John Young (R-Franklin).

Through the Community Crossings Matching Grant program, 218 Hoosier cities, towns and counties received a combined total of over $100 million. This program was established in 2016 and expanded a year later in 2017 through a law Young supported. The Indiana Department of Transportation oversees and distributes these grants twice each year.

"Indiana is in a strong position to continue investing in all our local communities," Young said. "When we developed our road funding plan, we took steps to ensure Hoosiers across the state would reap the benefits. Guidelines are in place so both small and large cities and towns can take advantage of this program."

The following communities in Johnson County received a grant:

  • Greenwood $983,159;
  • Franklin $1 million;
  • New Whiteland $343,500; and
  • Whiteland $734,167.

Davis said communities can use these funds for road and bridge preservation, road reconstruction, intersection improvements, guardrail replacements and signage. Smaller municipalities must provide a 25 percent match in local funds, while large communities must provide a 50 percent match.

"Thanks to our state's fiscal responsibility, we are able to continue successful programs like this without placing debt on future generations," Davis said. "These communities can tackle critical infrastructure projects that keep residents and visitors safe as they travel our roads."

More than $931 million in total has been awarded throughout the state since 2016. State law requires that 50 percent of the available matching funds be awarded annually to communities within counties with a population of 50,000 or fewer. 

More information about the program and recipients can be found online at in.gov/indot/communitycrossings. The next call for projects through Community Crossings will open in July 2021.


State Rep. Michelle Davis (R-Whiteland) represents House District 58,
which includes a portion of Johnson County.

Click here to download a high-resolution photo.

State Rep. John Young (R-Franklin) represents House District 47,
which includes portions of Johnson and Morgan counties.

Click here to download a high-resolution photo.