Daviess County, local communities eligible for pandemic relief funds

Posted by: Wade Coggeshall and Jordan Wallace  | Thursday, June 25, 2020

STATEHOUSE (June 25, 2020) — Daviess County and local communities are eligible for more than $1.5 million to cover COVID-19-related expenses through the federal stimulus package, according to local lawmakers.

"Slowing the spread of this outbreak required a rapid response from our community leaders," said State Rep. Bruce Borders (R-Jasonville). "This funding can help with some of the unexpected costs needed to keep our neighbors safe."

According to State Rep. Jeff Ellington (R-Bloomington), Indiana allocated $300 million in federal funding from the Coronavirus Aid, Relief and Economics Security Act to counties and communities for reimbursement of expenditures related to the pandemic. Ellington said the funding, allocated based on population, cannot be used to replace lost tax revenue.

"Fighting this virus does not come without economic consequences," Ellington said. "So many local officials have worked tirelessly to keep Hoosiers safe, and I'm grateful this funding is available to help our local governments recover."

Daviess County is eligible for $1,075,414 in reimbursement funding. In addition, the following communities are also eligible to receive the following amounts:

  • Alfordsville $3,406;
  • Cannelburg $5,028;
  • Elnora $21,445;
  • Montgomery $11,257;
  • Odon $45,486;
  • Plainville $15,994; and
  • Washington $394,159.

State Rep. Shane Lindauer (R-Jasper) said local townships seeking reimbursement for eligible COVID-19 expenses should coordinate with their county government.

"It takes everyone, working together, to beat this virus," Lindauer said. "Hoosiers are doing all they can to keep each other healthy, including our cities, towns and counties, and these funds will go a long way to help local communities cover COVID-19-related expenses."

The Indiana Finance Authority is in charge of implementing guidelines on how each county, city and town can use the funding, as well as compiling reimbursement requests through accepted documentation including invoices. Visit in.gov/ifa for more information.


State Rep. Bruce Borders (R-Jasonville) represents House District 45, which includes
all of Sullivan County and portions of Vigo, Greene, Knox and Daviess counties.
here to download a high-resolution photo.

State Rep. Jeff Ellington (R-Bloomington) represents House District 62, which includes
portions of Greene, Monroe, Martin and Daviess counties.
Click here to download a high-resolution photo.

State Rep. Shane Lindauer (R- Jasper) represents House District 63,
which includes portions of Daviess, Dubois, Pike and Martin counties.
Click here to download a high-resolution photo.