Daviess County lawmakers announce local recipient of $7,500 teaching scholarship

Posted by: Wade Coggeshall and Jordan Wallace  | Friday, April 24, 2020

STATEHOUSE (April 24, 2020) — Barr Reeve High School student Grant Harrison recently received the Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship, according to local legislators.

The statewide program awards scholarships to top-performing students who commit to teaching in Indiana for at least five years. Recipients receive $7,500 per year for up to four years of college to obtain a teaching license. The program began in 2017 thanks to legislation State Rep. Bruce Borders (R-Jasonville) supported.

"Shaping future leaders in the classroom is one of the most important callings," Borders said. "This scholarship is a great opportunity for some of our best students, like Grant, to make teaching their career."

According to State Rep. Jeff Ellington (R-Bloomington), the Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship is available to 200 high-achieving high school and college students each year who either graduate in the top 20% of their high school class or earn a score in the top-20th percentile on the SAT or ACT.

"Teachers are one of the biggest influences on our children outside of parents," Ellington said. "With this scholarship, Grant will be pursuing this noble calling and staying in the Hoosier state."

Harrison was among more than 350 students who applied statewide. He plans on attending Indiana University Bloomington this fall.

State Rep. Shane Lindauer (R-Jasper) said recipients must earn a 3.0 cumulative GPA and complete at least 30 credit hours per year in order to continue receiving the four-year renewable scholarship totaling $30,000.

"Many of these scholarship recipients were inspired by their teachers' generosity and unwavering support," Lindauer said. "Now Grant and fellow scholarship winners can save on college costs and pass along their passion for learning to the next generation."

The 2020-2021 application will be available in the fall. Visit LearnMoreIndiana.org/nextteacher for more information.


State Rep. Bruce Borders (R-Jasonville) represents House District 45, which includes
all of Sullivan County and portions of Vigo, Greene, Knox and Daviess counties.
Click here to download a high-resolution photo. 

State Rep. Jeff Ellington (R-Bloomington) represents House District 62, which includes
portions of Greene, Monroe, Martin and Daviess counties.
Click here to download a high-resolution photo.

State Rep. Shane Lindauer (R- Jasper) represents House District 63,
which includes portions of Daviess, Dubois, Pike and Martin counties.
Click here to download a high-resolution photo.