Community development grant awarded to the city of Martinsville

Posted by: Courtney Scott  | Thursday, November 7, 2013

STATEHOUSE – State Representative Peggy Mayfield (R-Martinsville) attended the ceremony honoring 24 Hoosier communities receiving over $8M in community development grants. The award ceremony was held at the Statehouse where Lt. Governor Sue Ellspermann presented awards to multiple communities across Indiana.

Funded with federal dollars from the Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) program, the City of Martinsville was one of three communities to receive an award from the Main Street Revitalization Program (MSRP), which focuses on refurbishing the downtown areas of each awarded community. Twenty-one communities received grants from the Community Focus Fund (CFF), which covers a broader spectrum of community enhancement projects. Both programs aim to assist smaller Hoosier cities and towns with long-term community development initiatives.

The city of Martinsville, in Morgan County was awarded $250,000 to help improve facades to buildings in the historic downtown.

“I am happy to see Martinsville receive $250.000 in grant funds which will enhance the appearance of our downtown square,” said Rep. Mayfield. “It is the heart of the city of Martinsville and all of Morgan County. It is important to preserve both the city’s history and heritage as well as maintain the appeal of the square as a center of community activities and future economic possibilities.”

This project is the result of planning efforts by the city which include a 2010 Downtown Plan and 2009 Downtown District.

“Rediscover Martinsville, an active Indiana Main Street Organization, played a significant role in the preparation and advancement of this project,” said Rep. Mayfield. “They should be very proud that their efforts have made these improvements a reality. It was truly a long-term collaborative effort between Rediscover Martinsville, the City of Martinsville and individual building owners to achieve something that they may not have been able to accomplish individually. I want to thank each of them for their dedication to the betterment of our community.”

The grants are administered through the Office of Community and Rural Affairs which will assist community leaders during the 18-month implementation process as well.

Visit to learn more about Rep. Mayfield or visit to learn more about OCRA, the CFF or the MSRP.