Clay County, local communities eligible for pandemic relief funds

Posted by: Wade Coggeshall  | Tuesday, June 16, 2020

STATEHOUSE (June 16, 2020) – Clay County and local communities are eligible for more than $1.2 million to cover COVID-19-related expenses through the federal stimulus package, according to local lawmakers.

"Another consequence of this pandemic is taking a bite out of local government budgets," said State Rep. Alan Morrison (R-Brazil). "Any support that can be provided during this emergency is vital to providing critical services to the community and preserving so much of what we love about our cities and towns."

According to State Rep. Bob Heaton (R-Terre Haute), Indiana allocated $300 million in federal funding from the Coronavirus Aid, Relief and Economics Security Act to counties and communities for reimbursement of expenditures related to the pandemic. He said the funding, allocated based on population, cannot be used to replace lost tax revenue.

"We are starting to see signs of recovery from this public health crisis, but many communities have taken a financial hit trying to mitigate its effects," Heaton said. "This funding can help alleviate some of those unexpected costs."

Clay County is eligible for $849,053 in reimbursement funding. In addition, the following communities are also eligible to receive the following amounts:

  • Brazil $261,626;
  • Carbon $12,425;
  • Center Point $7,462;
  • Clay City $26,733;
  • Harmony $20,309;
  • Knightsville $24,754; and
  • Staunton $16,838.

State Rep. Beau Baird (R-Greencastle) said local townships seeking reimbursement for eligible COVID-19 expenses should coordinate with their county government.

"Our communities have responded swiftly and effectively to counter this virus," Baird said. "It has required expenditures local officials didn't budget for, but this funding should help cover some of these costs as we all continue our daily lives with safety top of mind."

The Indiana Finance Authority is in charge of implementing guidelines on how each county, city and town can use the funding, as well as compiling reimbursement requests through accepted documentation including invoices. Visit for more information.


State Rep. Alan Morrison (R-Brazil) represents House District 42,
which includes all of Vermillion County and portions of Clay,
Fountain, Parke, Vigo and Warren counties.
Click here to download a high-resolution photo.

State Rep. Bob Heaton (R-Terre Haute) represents House District 46,
which includes portions of Clay, Monroe, Owen and Vigo counties.
Click here to download a high-resolution photo.

State Rep. Beau Baird (R-Greencastle) represents House District 44, which includes
all of Putnam County and portions of Clay, Morgan, Owen and Parke counties.
Click here to download a high-resolution photo.