Borders: Sullivan County, local communities eligible for pandemic relief funds

Posted by: Wade Coggeshall  | Tuesday, June 16, 2020

STATEHOUSE (June 16, 2020) – Sullivan County and local communities are eligible for more than $960,000 to cover COVID-19-related expenses through the federal stimulus package, according to State Rep. Bruce Borders (R-Jasonville).

Indiana allocated $300 million in federal funding from the Coronavirus Aid, Relief and Economics Security Act to counties and communities for reimbursement of expenditures related to the pandemic. Borders said the funding, allocated based on population, cannot be used to replace lost tax revenue.

"Slowing the spread of this outbreak required a rapid response from our community leaders," Borders said. "This funding can help with some of the unexpected costs needed to keep our neighbors safe."

Sullivan County is eligible for $671,261 in reimbursement funding. In addition, the following communities are also eligible to receive the following amounts:

  • Carlisle $21,412;
  • Dugger $28,680;
  • Farmersburg $35,006;
  • Hymera $24,722;
  • Merom $7,105;
  • Shelburn $39,224; and
  • Sullivan $132,922.

The Indiana Finance Authority is in charge of implementing guidelines on how each county, city and town can use the funding, as well as compiling reimbursement requests through accepted documentation including invoices. Visit for more information.


State Rep. Bruce Borders (R-Jasonville) represents House District 45, which includes
all of Sullivan County and portions of Vigo, Greene, Knox and Daviess counties.
here to download a high-resolution photo.