Borders: High schoolers can tutor younger students, earn credit

Posted by: Wade Coggeshall  | Wednesday, August 19, 2020

STATEHOUSE (Aug. 19, 2020) – As schools begin the new academic year, an opportunity to fulfill graduation requirements is available to high school juniors and seniors to tutor younger students, according to State Rep. Bruce Borders (R-Jasonville).

Borders said students can experience some form of learning loss over summer break, meaning they don't retain some of the lessons they learned the previous school year, but most are typically able to relearn these lessons quickly. However, because students participated in remote- or e-learning due to COVID-19, a recent Northwest Evaluation Association (NWEA) report estimates some children could begin the 2020-2021 school year up to nearly a full grade level behind their peers in some subject areas. To help bridge this gap, Borders said schools can implement the Indiana Department of Education's newly developed Indiana Tutoring Fellowship, which will fulfill the Service-Based Learning Experience under Graduation Pathway Requirement #2.

"Like so many aspects of our lives, the pandemic is also disrupting learning for many Hoosier children," Borders said. "This program is a win-win for our high school juniors and seniors working toward graduation and younger students requiring additional help in getting their academics back on track."

To be eligible to participate in this program, Borders said students must be a high school junior or senior, maintain at least a 3.0 GPA and be in good behavioral standing. The IDOE recommends tutoring sessions take place virtually, but if students are permitted to meet face-to-face, social distancing must be followed. Tutors will work with students in kindergarten through eighth grade.

Borders supported the 2017 law creating Indiana's graduation pathways, which allows students to pursue opportunities that best meet their education and career goals. 

Visit for more information.


State Rep. Bruce Borders (R-Jasonville) represents House District 45, which includes
all of Sullivan County and portions of Vigo, Greene, Knox and Daviess counties.
here to download a high-resolution photo.