Bill co-authored by DeVon, Teshka to fully fund all K-12 public school students advances to Senate

Posted by: Allison Vanatsky  | Tuesday, January 26, 2021 3:00 pm

STATEHOUSE (Jan. 26, 2021) – The Indiana House of Representatives voted today in support of legislation co-authored by State Reps. Dale DeVon (R-Granger) and Jake Teshka (R-South Bend) that will fully fund all K-12 public school students for the 2020-21 school year, regardless of whether students attended classes in-person or virtually due to COVID-19.

"For many Hoosier students, virtual or hybrid learning has become the new normal due to the pandemic," DeVon said. "Our schools have worked hard to minimize the impacts of the pandemic on student learning and provide all the same services. We remain committed to ensuring they receive full funding this year."

DeVon said the pandemic caused many traditional public schools to shift from in-person classes to remote learning. Under current law, schools receive 85% of tuition support per virtual student, which is defined as a child learning 50% or more of their instruction online. This means many schools would qualify for the lower funding amount because of moving classes online. The legislation, which now advances to the Senate for consideration, would help mitigate requirements under current law and allow K-12 public schools to receive 100% funding for each student, whether they attended classes in-person or virtually.

"The overwhelming bipartisan support for this legislation emphasizes the importance of supporting our local schools and getting our students the funding and resources they deserve," Teshka said. "For the sake of our schools, I hope our partners in the Senate also take swift action on this bill."

To learn more about House Bill 1003 and watch legislative proceedings online, visit


State Rep. Dale DeVon (R-Granger) represents House District 5, which includes portions of St. Joseph County.

Click here to download a high-resolution photo.

State Rep. Jake Teshka (R-South Bend) represents House District 7, which includes the majority of St. Joseph County.

Click here to download a high-resolution photo.