Bartholomew County legislators announce over $998K awarded to boost local road projects

Posted by: Lydia Kirschner  | Thursday, April 16, 2020 1:08 pm

STATEHOUSE (April 16, 2020) – Area lawmakers recently announced Bartholomew County received over $998,000 in state matching grants to bolster road and bridge improvements.

State Rep. Ryan Lauer (R-Columbus) said over 200 Indiana cities, towns and counties received a combined total of $126.5 million through the Community Crossings Matching Grant program. The grants are made available through the Indiana Department of Transportation to supplement local road funding.

"These matching grants are vital for towns throughout the state," Lauer said. "Here in Bartholomew County, this will help maintain our roads and critical infrastructure."

State Rep. Sean Eberhart (R-Shelbyville) said grant funding can be used toward road and bridge preservation, road reconstruction, intersection improvements, guardrail replacements and signage. Smaller municipalities must provide a match of 25% in local funds, while large communities must provide a 50% match.

"Indiana's infrastructure is one of the best in the nation, and these matching grants are one of the many reasons why," Eberhart said. "This program relieves some the financial strain many towns feel from road maintenance costs."

 In total, more than $738 million has been distributed for local road projects through the Community Crossings program. According to State Rep. Jim Lucas (R-Seymour), state law requires annually that 50 percent of the available matching funds be awarded to communities within counties with a population of 50,000 or fewer. 

"Our streets and roads play a crucial role in our lives, which is why it is important to make sure they are adequately funded," Lucas said. "Indiana's Community Crossings program provides much-needed funding to locals to complete projects without raising taxes or taking on debt."

An estimated $100 million will be available for communities opting to apply for these grants during the July 2020 call for projects. More information about the program and recipients can be found at


State Rep. Ryan Lauer (R-Columbus) represents House District 59,
which includes portions of Bartholomew County.
Click here to download a high-resolution photo.

State Rep. Sean Eberhart (R-Shelbyville) represents House District 57,
which includes Shelby County and portions of Bartholomew and Hancock counties.

Click here to download a high-resolution photo.

State Rep. Jim Lucas (R-Seymour) represents House District 69, which includes
portions of Bartholomew, Jackson, Jennings and Jefferson counties.
here to download a high-resolution photo.