Bartholomew Co. lawmakers encourage local communities to apply for road funding grants

Community Crossings grant application deadline is Oct. 23

Posted by: Lydia Kirschner  | Thursday, October 15, 2020

STATEHOUSE (Oct. 15, 2020) – Area lawmakers encourage communities in Bartholomew County to apply for the Community Crossings Matching Grant Program to help fund local road and bridge projects.

State Rep. Ryan Lauer (R-Columbus) said Community Crossings Matching Grants, created through a 2016 state law, help cities, towns and counties fund local infrastructure projects through preservation, road construction, intersection improvements, guardrail replacements and signage.

"Indiana is ranked No. 1 in infrastructure, and Community Crossings grants are a significant contributing factor to our top ranking," Lauer said. "Even as other states are making cuts to budgets, we are able to continue investing in our local roads and bridges."

According to State Rep. Sean Eberhart (R-Shelbyville), Hoosier communities are eligible for a state match up to $1 million annually and the Indiana Department of Transportation opens applications twice a year. Due to COVID-19, this year’s second round of calls for projects was postponed in July, but Gov. Eric Holcomb recently announced that the matching grant program will resume and the new application deadline is Oct. 23.

"Whether traveling in town or across the state, we depend on safe roads," Eberhart said. "For local governments, these grants can be key to making local infrastructure improvements, which also helps promote economic growth and adds to our quality of life."

Counties with fewer than 50,000 residents and cities and towns with less than 10,000 residents contribute 25% of the matching funds, with larger communities contributing 50%. To be eligible, all local units of government must have an approved Asset Management Plan and provide a funding match.

"Investing in infrastructure is critical to ensuring our rural communities can compete in today's economy," said State Rep. Jim Lucas (R-Seymour). "Hoosiers need to be able to travel safely, and businesses require quality roads to transport goods and services, and connect with consumers and employees."

Lucas said since the program's inception, $739 million has been awarded to support Hoosier communities and infrastructure projects around the state. Local governments can apply for the program online at, with forms due by 5 p.m. EST on Oct. 23.  


State Rep. Ryan Lauer (R-Columbus) represents House District 59, 

which includes portions of Bartholomew County.  

Click here to download a high-resolution photo.

 State Rep. Sean Eberhart (R-Shelbyville) represents House District 57,
which includes Shelby County and portions of Bartholomew and Hancock counties.
Click here to download a high-resolution photo. 

 State Rep. Jim Lucas (R-Seymour) represents House District 69, which includes
portions of Bartholomew, Jackson, Jennings and Jefferson counties.
here to download a high-resolution photo.