Bartels: Perry County schools receive funds to boost remote learning resources

Posted by: Jordan Wallace  | Friday, August 28, 2020 12:00 pm

STATEHOUSE (Aug. 28, 2020) Schools in Perry County recently received grants to invest in remote learning equipment and internet connectivity, according to State Rep. Stephen Bartels (R-Eckerty).

Bartels said schools statewide received a total of $61 million through the Governor's Emergency Education Relief Fund, which was created by the federal CARES Act. Funding will help increase device access, internet connectivity, and educator training and development.

"Students and teachers are hard at work this new school year, and this additional funding will help them meet certain challenges that comes with remote learning," Bartels said. "The success of our schools is tied to the success of our communities, and we need to work together to ensure students, teachers and families have the tools to continue to thrive."

Cannelton City Schools received $30,000, and Perry Central Community Schools is among recipients of the $3,375,000 grant awarded to the University of Indianapolis, Central Indiana Education Service Center and Southern Indiana Education Center.

According to Bartels, the GEER funding supports several education-related entities throughout the state. He said the funding goes toward purchasing devices like Chromebooks and iPads for students, new or upgraded laptops and tablets for teachers, and mobile WiFi devices with subscription plans for households needing internet service.

A grant application could be completed by a single school corporation or a combination of eligible education entities. The 257 applications received were evaluated by a team from the Indiana Department of Education, the Indiana Commission for Higher Education and the Indiana State Board of Education.

A full list of grant recipients is available here, and the governor's official announcement is here.


State Rep. Stephen Bartels (R-Eckerty) represents House District 74,
which includes portions of Spencer, Dubois, Perry, Crawford and Orange counties.
here to download a high-resolution photo.