Barrett, Saunders: Wayne County, local communities eligible for pandemic relief funds

Posted by: Lydia Kirschner  | Tuesday, May 26, 2020 10:33 am

STATEHOUSE (May 26, 2020) – Wayne County and local communities are eligible for more than $3.5 million to cover COVID-19-related expenses through the federal stimulus package, according to State Reps. Brad Barrett (R-Richmond) and Tom Saunders (R-Lewisville).

Indiana allocated $300 million in federal funding from the Coronavirus Aid, Relief and Economics Security Act to counties and communities for reimbursement of expenditures related to the pandemic. Barrett said the funding, allocated based on population, cannot be used to replace lost tax revenue.

"The COVID-19 outbreak has impacted local communities throughout the state," Barrett said. "In Wayne County, towns may have taken on unpredicted expenses to help fight the spread of the virus. This federal funding will help reimburse communities for these COVID-19-related costs."

Wayne County is eligible for $2,139,213 in reimbursement funding. In addition, these local communities are eligible to receive the following amounts:

  • Boston $4,250;
  • Cambridge City $57,101;
  • Centerville $82,439;
  • Dublin $24,235;
  • East Germantown $11,355;
  • Economy $5,677;
  • Fountain City $24,754;
  • Greens Fork $12,588;
  • Hagerstown $54,570;
  • Milton $14,826;
  • Mount Auburn $3,374;
  • Richmond $1,146,985;
  • Spring Grove $10,446; and
  • Whitewater $2,271.

Saunders said local townships seeking reimbursement for eligible COVID-19 expenses should coordinate with their county government.

"When local governments made their budgets, they could not predict we would experience a public health crisis like this," Saunders said. "Protecting Hoosiers is a priority and our communities are now dealing with these unexpected expenses. This federal funding will help our towns, cities and county get through this outbreak."

The Indiana Finance Authority is in charge of implementing guidelines on how each county, city and town can use the funding, as well as compiling reimbursement requests through accepted documentation including invoices. Visit for more information.


State Rep. Brad Barrett (R-Richmond) represents House District 56,

which includes portions of Wayne County.

Click here to download a high-resolution photo.


State Rep. Tom Saunders (R-Lewisville) represents House District 54,

which includes Henry County and portions of Rush and Wayne counties.

Click here to download a high-resolution photo.