Bacon: Donít miss the deadline for paid Statehouse internship

Posted by: Adam Kern  | Friday, October 11, 2019 10:00 am

The deadline is fast approaching for students and recent graduates to submit applications for paid internships with the Indiana House of Representatives during the 2020 legislative session. Interested students need to apply as soon as possible, with applications due no later than Oct. 31.

Not only is this internship a great way to learn about Indiana’s government, but interns also receive biweekly compensation of $750. Students can earn academic credit through their college or university, and interns are also eligible to apply for a competitive $3,000 scholarship to use toward undergraduate and graduate expenses.  

This internship is so much more than a job. Those selected directly assist state legislators and staff with daily tasks. From assisting constituents, conducting research and writing press releases, interns put the skills they are honing in college to use in a professional setting.

Many House interns achieve greater success after their time with the House of Representatives, with some joining the team as full-time staff, and others working in the private sector. They gain valuable skills like organization, time management and communication abilities that will help prepare them for a career.

Positions are open to college sophomores, juniors, seniors, graduate students and recent graduates of all majors. Students can apply for internships in a variety of areas focusing on legislative operations, communications and media relations, policy or fiscal policy. No previous political or government experience is necessary.

If you believe someone you know would be a good fit for the program, please encourage them to apply.

At this time, interviews are being conducted and positions are being filled, so don’t delay! Learn more and apply before the Oct. 31 deadline at If you have any questions, please contact my office at 317-232-9643 or by email at


State Rep. Ron Bacon (R-Chandler) represents House District 75, 
which includes portions of Warrick, Pike and Spencer counties.

Click here to download a high-resolution photo.