Area legislators invite students to page at the Statehouse

Posted by: Lydia Kirschner  | Thursday, December 20, 2018 2:39 pm

STATEHOUSE (Dec. 20, 2018) – Local Lawmakers encourage students who want to learn more about state government to participate in the Indiana House Page Program during the 2019 legislative session.

“The page program is a great way for young Hoosiers to learn how laws are made,” said State Rep. Brad Barrett (R-Richmond). “In addition to better understanding the legislative process, student pages watch session from the House floor and meet elected officials.”

Those who are between the ages of 13 to 18 can spend a day at the Statehouse in Indianapolis helping staff and local legislators, touring government offices, and learning about the legislative process.

“Going into my first session as a lawmaker, I am excited for students in our area to join me at the Statehouse,” said State Rep. J.D. Prescott (R-Union City). “Through this program, House pages learn the importance of participating in our community, better preparing them to be leaders.”

Student pages receive an excused absence from school and groups can participate together.

“Spending a day at the Statehouse gives student pages the chance to see the daily routine of a state lawmaker,” said State Rep. Tom Saunders (R-Lewisville). “From helping prepare the House Chamber to delivering messages to lawmakers, this experience is excellent for those who wish to pursue a career in public service.”

For more information and to sign up, visit or call 800-382-9841.

The 2019 legislative session begins Thursday, Jan. 3, and must conclude by April 30.


State Rep. Bradford Barrett (R-Richmond) represents House District 56,

which includes portions of Wayne County.

Click here to download a high-resolution photo.


State Rep. J.D. Prescott (R-Union City) represents House District 33, which

includes Jay and Randolph counties, and a portion of Delaware County.

Click here to download a high-resolution photo.


State Rep. Tom Saunders (R-Lewisville) represents House District 54,

which includes Henry County and portions of Rush and Wayne counties.

Click here to download a high-resolution photo.