Area lawmakers announce Posey County recipients of $7,500 scholarship

Posted by: Jordan Wallace  | Thursday, April 23, 2020

STATEHOUSE (April 23, 2020) — Mount Vernon High School seniors Ellen Bush and Rhett Snodgrass recently received the Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship, according to State Reps. Matt Hostettler (R-Fort Branch) and Wendy McNamara (R-Evansville).

The statewide program awards scholarships to top-performing students who commit to teaching in Indiana for at least five years. Recipients receive $7,500 per year for up to four years of college to obtain a teaching license. The program began in 2017 thanks to legislation McNamara supported.

"Teachers see children at their best and worst, and have to adapt to each of their unique needs. It's a profession that's not always easy, but can be incredibly rewarding," McNamara said. "Ellen and Rhett are pursuing a noble career that is challenging and fulfilling."

According to Hostettler, the Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship is available to 200 high-achieving high school and college students each year who either graduate in the top 20% of their high school class or earn a score in the top-20th percentile on the SAT or ACT.

"Emma and Rhett are top-performing students who will be giving back to our communities and teaching in our schools," Hostettler said. "When the best and brightest lead the classroom, they can have a significant impact on helping younger generations succeed."

Bush and Snodgrass were among more than 350 students who applied statewide. Both plan on attending University of Southern Indiana this fall.

Recipients must earn a 3.0 cumulative GPA and complete at least 30 credit hours per year in order to continue receiving the four-year renewable scholarship totaling $30,000.

“Congratulations to all 200 students, who are on their way to becoming impactful, future Hoosier teachers,” said Indiana Commissioner for Higher Education Teresa Lubbers. “We know these students have the passion and determination to make a difference in classrooms across the state.”

The 2020-2021 application will be available in the fall. Visit for more information.


State Rep. Matt Hostettler (R-Fort Branch) represents House District 64,
which includes Gibson County and portions of Knox, Pike, Vanderburgh and Posey counties.
Click here to download a high-resolution photo.

 State Rep. Wendy McNamara (R-Evansville) represents House District 76, 
which includes portions of Posey and Vanderburgh counties.

Click here to download a high-resolution photo.