Allen County students awarded future educator scholarship

Posted by: Jake Thompson  | Wednesday, May 2, 2018

STATEHOUSE (May 2, 2018) — Many students from Allen County planning to pursue a career in education were selected to receive the Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship, according to State Reps. Martin Carbaugh (R-Fort Wayne), Dave Heine (R-New Haven) and Bob Morris (R-Fort Wayne).

The scholarship is awarded to top-performing students who commit to teaching in Indiana for five consecutive years, and recipients receive $7,500 per year for up to four years to obtain a teaching license.

“Investing in future teachers is another opportunity to enhance Indiana’s already strong education system,” Carbaugh said. “I look forward to the future and seeing what these Allen County students accomplish.”

The Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship is available to 200 high-achieving high school and college students each year who either graduate in the top 20 percent of their high school class or earn a score in the top-20th percentile on the SAT or ACT. For students to continue receiving the scholarship in college, students must earn a 3.0 cumulative GPA and complete at least 30 credit hours per year.

“The program’s qualifications are meant to be demanding so the state’s return on investment is protected,” Heine said. “We believe these standards will lead to the addition of more quality teachers to our education system.”

More than 500 students applied, and 200 scholarships were recently awarded to highly qualified students across the state.

“Nearly 10 percent of the students selected came from Allen County, making this group the largest amount of county scholarship honorees in the state,” Morris said. “I’m encouraged so many area students were able to take advantage of this program.”

Fourteen Allen County students received a scholarship:

  • Elizabeth Bogle, Bishop Dwenger High School, Ball State University;
  • Kennedy Brough, Bishop Luers High School, Trine University;
  • Samuel Burchett, Carroll High School, Butler University;
  • Lillian Castleman, Heritage Jr/Sr High School, Ball State University;
  • Hadley Decker, New Haven High School, Anderson University;
  • Kayla Deremer, Norwell High School, Ball State University;
  • Andrea Landrigan, Homestead Senior High School, Purdue University Fort Wayne;
  • Allison Mason, New Haven High School, Ivy Tech Community College;
  • Sarah Moher, Leo Jr/Sr High School, Ball State University;
  • Caroline Obergfell, Bishop Dwenger High School, Marian University;
  • Acadia Rekeweg, Leo Jr/Sr High School, Ball State University;
  • Gabrielle Shuler, New Haven High School, Saint Mary-Of-The-Woods College;
  • Steven Weibel, R. Nelson Snider High School, University of St. Francis; and
  • Anna Zvers, Homestead Senior High School, Taylor University.

“We’re encouraged to have so many driven, passionate students applying for this teacher scholarship, and we look forward to the positive impact they will have in classrooms and school communities across Indiana,” said Indiana Commissioner for Higher Education Teresa Lubbers.

The 2019-2020 application will be available beginning in the fall. Visit for more information.


State Rep. Martin Carbaugh (R-Fort Wayne) represents House District 81, 
which includes portions of Allen County.

A high-resolution photo of Carbaugh can be downloaded by clicking here.


State Rep. Dave Heine (R-New Haven) represents House District 85,

which contains portions of Allen County. 

A high-resolution photo of Heine can be downloaded by clicking here.


State Rep. Bob Morris (R-Fort Wayne) represents House District 84, 
which includes portions of Allen County.

A high-resolution photo of Morris can be downloaded by clicking